Random Things


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Don't get used to the photos. They aren't here.

i feel the need to share with you that yesterday is the first day that I haven't been covered in sweat the majority of the day. It was actually a really nice and cool day. A bit of a relief.

Well, I was flipping to a new page in my journal, and I saw some things that I thought would be fun to share.

The coolest thing in the world: Being picked up at the airport and having your name on a sign. I have seriously ALWAYS wanted to have that happen. Check.

Speaking of my name... It's funny. In America, I can say my last name is Fudge - like the chocolate. Here.. not so much. I asked the Chinese guy beside me on the plane from Hong Kong to Wuhan if he had ever had fudge because he pronounced my name wrong (Foodge). He said, "I don't know. I have had Hershey's and Dove." Fail.

Another thing about my name. The other Americans in my city for now are a married couple. The Chinese who have been taking us around and helping us call them both "Dickey" (their last name). Sometimes they add "Mr." or "Mrs." I am always referred to by Brenda. It makes me laugh. What makes it even funnier is that my whole life everyone has always thought I had the coolest last name ever, so they always called me "Fudge" (or some variation thereof.. Fudgie Wudgie was my favorite). Not anymore.

Back to the airport. There are 3 of us. Each one of us has two 50 lb. checked bags plus our carry-ons and personal items. Our school showed up with one car. Problem? Yes. We had to get a taxi for the rest of our bags and me (this is the rusty metal surrounding the cab driver picture). Another Fail.

I can't believe I forgot this in the first entry.. It's definitely something you have to get used to. My first trip to a bathroom... let's just say that it was interesting. I had been told about them by several folks. I believe them now. It really is a hole in the floor. There was no toilet paper. And there was no soap for you to wash your hands. Really. Please imagine that... if you care to. If you don't, I don't blame you.

In telling you about my apartment, I brushed the subject of the shower. Yes, it's true. There are no partitions or curtains.. You stand in the middle of the bathroom (sometimes next to the toilet) and take a shower. It's kind of weird, but then I realized, hey, I live by myself... who cares?

I watched a lady make duck soup. She was standing in the dining room area pulling a duck apart (not cool for me.. as you know, or as you should know, I LOVE ducks. And no, not to eat. They're cute).

Another thing about driving... We were going to Danjiangkou, and there was some construction on the highway. In America there are signs that say don't pass in the shoulder. No signs of that sort in China. We sure did pass a car on the shoulder. Scary? Yep.

We took a ramp to exit off the highway. We went through a toll booth thing and immediately turned back around and went back through. I'm not really sure what happened... but that's not the reason I'm telling you this. While we were waiting to go back through the toll booth, I looked out the window and saw something flying through the air. I thought it was just some kind of dirt or pieces of something.. I don't know. I looked closer. I leaned back and asked if they were bugs. The answer? "They're bees." There were, I would say, thousands of them. Why? "I don't know." It reminded me of several movies.. Candyman, The Silence of the Lambs movie cover, The Birds. Maybe I should have gotten out and made an impromptu video called The Bees. Except I didn't want to get stung. That would have been awesome. Just kidding.

We pulled off in a service area.. I went to the bathroom just because I was curious. Yep. Still holes in the floor. There were 2 toilets though.. neither of them usable.

They spit. It's not been as bad as I imagined, but I've seen (and heard) several people hock loogies (I hope you know what I'm talking about. Travelblog says I spelled it wrong. Of course, it also says I spelled Travelblog wrong) and spit on the street. Not cute.

Split pants? Yep. They're real. And so is peeing in public. I have only seen a little boy do it, but still. It's real. And quite awkward. Especially when it's right outside of a store and you almost run into the parent and child because you're going into the store. True story? Yep. Awkward times.

And they stare. Hardcore. That's all I have to say about it.

Okay, that's really all I can think of right now.. Keep reading, keep commenting and tell your friends! It makes me happy!


Advertisement



28th August 2009

I love it
I can't tell you how happy I am that you have this blog to share all your adventures with us. I have heard of the hole-in-the-floor toilets, but never had the pleasure of seeing one. That is one thing I believe I can miss and not feel too deprived. Keep those blogs coming!!
28th August 2009

I hope....
I hope that one little boy peeing in public is the ONLY person you see peeing in public while you are there. We both know that most likely won't be the case but ewwwwwww...... and the bee thing... holy smokes! I might have started rocking back and forth like rain man and saying nothing but "airport, airport, airport!". Me thinks you have a future in writing my dear...a pleasure to read these and be able to keep up. The staring would drive me bananas and entice me to act crazy just to get reactions 8-)
28th August 2009

Blaugh!!!
Hi Brenda! I am really enjoying the blog. Perhaps one day you will teach me how to set one up. Just be thankful you have a washer (even without instructions). You could have had a washboard or a flat rock to clean clothes on. Have you been by any shops with ducks and other things hanging from the overhead? Usually, there is an area with vegetables and fruits to buy in addition. Spitting is an art in several cultures. In the south, watermelon seed spitting is an annual event at some county fairs and everyone who chews "baccer" can hit a spitoon from ten paces! I am really looking forward to your comments when you begin to get prepared to teach conversational English. Just remember, East Tennessee colloquialisms just ain't good English!!! That was one of the hardest things I found to try to avoid in Engllish literature classes in college. Many of them are what I just thought was how you said things. But a good set of " "s can cover up nearly anything. Since you are there could you perhaps spell phonetically the names of the things and places you mention. For Instance, "Hubei", "Danjiangkou", "Yun Yang" and other words whose spellings from the Chinese leave little clue for the English pronunciation. Hubei, for instance, could be "Hoo-bay", "Hew-bi", or "Ralph" for all we know back here. Thanks for the blog, and we miss you. Love Dad
28th August 2009

Please let this happen...
I'm not gonna lie...I hope you get peed on. If you ever typed that on here, I promise you, you would be able to hear me laughing from China.
28th August 2009

You are cracking me up!
Hey Girl! Or should I say Fudgie Wudgie! You are super entertaining! I love it! I have signed up to get an email whenever you update! Wow - I am glad that restroom facilities are different here! I hope you are really enjoying your trip! I admire you for being so adventurous! We love and miss you! Keep your blogs coming! Love ya lots! Kelly.
28th August 2009

Cute guy
I didn't know you was so witty. This is all just too much girl. I am glad you are finding so much humor in all this and not letting it bother you. I think its very funny too. Love reading all about it. As for the cute guy-who knows? Love and prayers.
30th August 2009

el cuarto de bano
Your mom was telling us Wednesday night about the bathroom situation, and I just couldn't believe it. With all the movies that are made about life in China (Rush Hour, Rush Hour 2, Rush Hour 3), you would think someone would put just one crazy hole-in-the-floor bathroom scene, but I've never seen one. You are opening my eyes, girl. What else are they hiding from us??
14th September 2009

hello
Hey Brenda, James forwarded me your blog address and I have read every entry and have kept up with you through this. Oh, the adventures you are having! I am so proud of you! I admire you and the job you are doing!!! I so enjoy reading all of the little things that go on in your daily life and the life of your friends. The mouse, the spiders/bugs, all the aimless animals running around everywhere! Oh and the food. You are brave. I think if I went to just about any foreign land where you are advised to not drink the water...I would lose weight!!! ha ha ! I have been known to be picky and I can see me in a lot of your descriptions. Keep blogging and telling us all of your stories...we keep you in our thoughts and prayers. I know the blog is a comfort to your family as well. Take care ~ Kim
17th September 2009

oh i meant to tell you at some point when i realized where you would be that i think the people in town with you went to training with me before i went! just a random fact. also bathrooms...better in eastern china. always..ALWAYS carry tp with you, bathrooms always bad..everywhere. its unbelievable sometimes. most of where i was there were actually like squatty potty ceramic things not a toilet but yea anyway. when i headed into central china on vaca one time it was just the holes, very weird, then came the rooms with several holes, no walls or anything...you think they stare like it is, just wait till you're all in the bathroom together. oh and one of the rarer sights of bathrooms and people and such i saw a young adult (our age ish) use the bathroom outside the subway in shanghai....very odd very out of place. just pulled her pants down and squatted...yep it happens.

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb