Xiangfan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Xiangfan
October 17th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its Saturday. I got up at 6:30 am. Those words and numbers should never go together... Regardless, I woke up and got ready to leave by 7. Jessi, Kyle and I went outside to get in the taxi that was supposed to be waiting for us outside of our apartment building. It wasn there, so we walked towards the gate. Jessi got a call from Nicole in foreign affairs, and we finally found the cab.. it was in the wrong place.

We got on the road and drove to Xiangfan. The plan was to meet Melody and two of her friends at McDonalds for breakfast. We got there at like 9:30, and as soon as we got up to the registers, they took the breakfast signs down. Jessi and I still ordered pancakes (yeah, I don like pancakes really), but Kyle got a burger. Those pancakes and sausage patty were amazing. I ordered by myself too.. after I listened to Jessi do it. haha. It was cool. I wish I hadve thought to take a picture.

We ate, and then we were going to see if we could find a Xing Wua that had movies. We did, but then
SkippingSkippingSkipping

Notice the girl standing to the right of us.. she thinks we are crazy.
the girls said there was a bigger one not too far away. We had to meet a group for lunch, but we figured wed have enough time to get there and back. Turns out it was back across the bridge and then a 15 minute walk after that. So, we just turned around and went back to McDonalds to meet our group. We ate lunch at a Chinese restaurant with the foreigners in Xiangfan. It was pretty awesome.. there were 11 of us. 3 of us being Melody and her friends. The booths had porch swings for seats. That was cool.

After lunch we went to the big Xing Wua (Kyle, Jessi, Melody and me). I bought Pixars Short Films in Chinese. Kyle got Toy Story 1 & 2 and some more.. Jessi got a bunch too. We went to Wal Mart after that. I bought a backpack because I only brought one smaller bag besides my suitcases. Jessi bought a bunch of different things... a scarf, backpack, butter... Kyle bought baked beans and two candy bars. It was a lot like an American Wal Mart, but with a Chinese touch. It was a lot of fun. We are probably going to try and visit more often.

We left Wal Mart and went to the bus station to meet our taxi driver. We stood there and waited for a really long time. We finally had a lady approach us and tell Melody that we were supposed to take a taxi to somewhere close to the hospital and our taxi driver was there. We were confused, so we tried to call Nicole to no avail. It kept getting weirder. The lady said she would pay for our taxi to the next one. We decided to go.. we had 4 people in the back seat and Kyle in the front. It was crazy. We all kept talking about how creepy it was.

We finally got to the other taxi. It was a meter taxi, but we just paid a flat rate. Kyle, Jessi and I all agreed that the guy was kind of weird.. and discussed who he would take out first if he were a creep. It was pretty comical. We were all really tired though, so it was a lot funnier to me than it probably actually was.

We went back home. Thats been our day.
Wal-MartWal-MartWal-Mart

It was pretty sweet.
None of us were hungry for dinner. We had talked about coming back and getting barbeque but decided that we were just tired and wanted to go home. We did stop at the little store for Kyle to get a drink and some sweet potato stuff, but thats it. Im seriously about to go to bed. Im so tired.

I took some pictures.. not many. Hope you enjoy the ones I did get.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BackpackBackpack
Backpack

I kind of regret not buying this one.


17th October 2009

Seriously?
Seriously girlfriend? I think Kyle is fictional. Or illusive like Bigfoot maybe? P I C T U R E.... we all know you have a camera 8-). Love reading your stuff. I bet you were thrilled to see a Mickey Ds and a WalMart....tastes of home for sure. You are missed!
17th October 2009

Wow
Cool blog. Glad you had a good time in Xiangfan. Ill have to check out DJK sometime. See ya around!
17th October 2009

Thanks for the updates Brenda
Brenda you are so cute. We read your updates every day and find the wonderful. Sometimes I feel like I.m there too. Your descriptions of food is great. Leep up your good work Love Sally and Rex in N>Z> xx

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb