Arriving in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
August 27th 2012
Published: August 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

NI Hao! So here is my first post all the way from CHINA! The weather is hot and humid to say the least, although am so far unsure as to whether the mentioned climate will result in desired tan!

The journey literally flew by (no pun intended…) and nineteen hours in the air seemed much less as I made the most of my final instalment of Western TV.

On arriving in Wuhan, I was met by Crystal, the representative from our school, who offered myself and Aleks a warm welcome! In fact, the local people here all seem very friendly. Children have waved and said ‘Hello!’ in the streets with one woman even welcoming us to China! It seems all very weird, especially as I have adopted a celebrity-like status without having to do much but turn up.

To say I was suffering from tiredness yesterday is an understatement. I was so glad to finally reach my apartment to lay my head on the pillow.

However, before I could do this Crystal gave us a brief tour of the school and took us to the canteen where we were given a food card which entitles us to three meals a day… (seriously beginning to wonder what I am actually going to paying being for during my stay!) The food was naturally very different to anything I’ve ever had at home. My relationship with Chinese food is definitely going to be a working progress!!! We were also taken to the police station where we were officially registered as residents of China, all seeming very real now!

Anyway, so far I don’t have much to report as the day was a blur due to exhaustion and procedural errands. However, today we plan to go exploring the city centre to see what it has to offer. Hopefully, in my next post I will have more to say with greater detail. (Oh and will start taking pictures from today..!)

Zia Jian!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb