Round is a shape!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
March 17th 2011
Published: March 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yay, I have my first subscriber! She just happens to be my mother! I subscribed to a couple of other Wuhan blogs. Perhaps they will return the favor.

Early in the morning, I heard some stomping above me last night. I don't know how that's possible seeing that I am on the top floor of the foreign teacher's apartment, but it woke me up around 6 AM. I stayed in my bed and slept on-and-off until about 8:30 or so. I got dressed and cleaned up super-fast and got to the van to go to Metro, a store not unlike a Sam's Club or Costco in America.

It's about an hour to Metro. I dished out some heavy cash and bought some vegetables, booze and a few items not often found in America. I was disappointed to find that they did not have an alarm clock or a wristwatch (WTF China). I have to make a list of things I'd like to have shipped from America. I'd love to have somebody ship me some whey protein, but customs might think it's flavored cocaine intended to be sold to little kids and confiscate it. Even if they didn't, they'd probably charge up the ass to get it delivered.

Anyway, I paid up and left for the apartment with American, British and Japanese #1. I decided to cancel tandem lessons with Tutor Student so I could meet D. West for badminton. American and I met up along the way and we went to the place together. Australia was already there and warming up with one of his students. D. West made it and the foreigners + D. West played 2 vs. 2.

Seeing that I haven't played in 6 years, I was awful. I've always had a very good short game, quick reflexes, good at serving and have great court awareness. It's just that I have awful stamina and endurance. I expected D. West to dominate us. In the first game, me and Australia lost 21-9. So yeah, really bad. In the second game, the score was 21-17. So, far better in the second game. I also played America in a one-on-one game and lost 21-19. At no point did either of us have a point lead larger than 2 points.

Afterwards, I saw the "fitness gym" on campus and was kind of disappointed. It was dirty, small and stunk to high heaven. It was probably about the size of my apartment. For some reason, I really wasn't surprised. I don't know where I can get free weights. Maybe Metro will have some. I didn't look at the sporting goods section (if there was any). So I don't know for certain if they have them. I got some rice, soybean oil and orange juice at the convenience store and went back home.

Tomorrow is a be-a-total-bum day. I suppose I should clean up the place and do some laundry. Next week, I'll have to contact The Boss to fix my TV and internet connection. My Ethernet setup is dead and wireless is shit. He's a penny pincher and I'll have to break his ass before he does anything. I hope to use my newly purchased food to cook up some dinner. But overall, I think I'll be a bum.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb