routine


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Life has seemed astoundingly normal lately, hence the lack of updates. Then again, I suppose the fact that things seem normal is in itself astounding. I’ve gotten into the routine of waking up and teaching my classes every morning, then going home and preparing for my classes. The job is all consuming. I don’t have too much time for other things, except for on Saturdays.

I’ve been going to a local foreign language club on occasion. It’s called Mr. Mai’s, and it’s mostly populated by Chinese college students who are eager for a chance to practice their English. However, there’s a Chinese practice night on Wednesdays that I plan to make a habit of attending. I’ve met a few fun people so far. The club is also notable for the most amazing coffee I’ve had since coming to China. I should probably say the -only- amazing coffee… it’s more of a tea country, I think.

I still want to go to Nepal during the one month break, but I’m debating taking a three week course at an intensive Mandarin Chinese immersion school instead. The school is in a different province, so I’d still get to experience a change in my surroundings, and it would be a good opportunity to improve my Chinese skills. I’ll think about it.

I have graded forty test papers today, and I still have ninety more to go. I should go do that.



Advertisement



23rd November 2008

Welcome to the real world of teaching. Many folk envy us the long holidays but when you explain the 2 weeks to recover, the 2 weeks to go away for a break and the 2 weeks preparation needed for returning to work, they're not so sure. Another man's grass is always greener...as they say. You seem to be making full use of your Saturdays, not frittering them away doing nothing different. That's a good idea. It gives you a change of pace and scenery. All the best.
23rd November 2008

Personally I'd say go for the Chinese class. The better I know the local language the more confident and safer I feel living and working in a foreign country. The rule of thumb I use is I need to know enough vocabulary that in an emergency I could explain simply what happened to the police or doctor by myself. Not to mention getting a formal education on the language would make you more marketable when you got back to the States.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb