And it begins...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The countdown to Christmas is on! Today we found out our schedule up until our New Years vacation, and it's amazingly easy. We've been told to slow down our teaching (the first term is short compared to the second one, so we must have units in the book remaining to teach), and then the week before Christmas we're only supposed to review and play games - no new material. Then we were surprised to learn that we get TWO days off for Christmas, not just one... so we're stoked about a 4 day weekend. We come back and work a couple days more, then have 4 more days for normal New Years. After that we work a few more days and have a month off. Not bad hey??? Don't you want to teach English in China? Ha!

I started my new part time job yesterday. We just have so many bills in Canada that it's a little hard to keep up - so I accepted a teaching job at the school I worked at before. Except it's very different now. My classes are only one hour instead of two, and I only had two students. It was labeled a "beginner" class, but we could communicate easily and time flew by. Then I had an "English Corner". Before, this was a class where I stood in front of maybe 20 students, chose a subject, and lectured for an hour. But now, it's just another class. I had the same two students, and we just talked for another hour. Before I knew it, I was on my way home. Not bad - and 200Y for the time! Yay me!

I want to let you all know... the internet in China has been having some issues, and it has not been easy to access Facebook or email. It would sometimes take more then 10 minutes for one page to load. Today it is working much better, so keep your fingers crossed that it will continue. And please be patient while I catch up on emails - I love getting them, but will need a few days to reply😊

Thank you SO much to all of you who are writing, sending pictures, and calling every once in awhile - you rock!!! It's awesome to know we're on your minds way over there in "the West". And please - if you have any questions, or I'm not telling you about something you're curious about, let me know!

Until next time...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb