First day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lets see…

I arrived at the airport in Wuhan at around 10:00 pm last night, where I was met by two of the Chinese English teachers at the school. They were both very sweet, and several people who I don’t really know showed up once we reached the school to help me get my bags into my room. I’m living on the fourth floor of the foreign experts’ building here, and my floormates were also quick to greet me. Two of the people on my floor have been in China for more than six months now, and they had lots of information to share. The girl living next door to me is really sweet and fun. The other teachers here are from The USA, Canada, Scotland, and England, but so far I’ve only really met the American and Canadian teachers.

I was surprised by how many things my room came with. The refrigerator was already stocked with bread and milk for me, and the kitchen was filled with all of the dishes, cleaning supplies, and toiletries I could possibly need. Right now I’m certain that I made the right choice in schools. Everyone here has been so entirely helpful. Today there was a squad of about five Chinese men preparing my computer and internet for me, and the people who work for the school seem to be doing their best to make sure that the foreign teachers are happy and comfortable.

Today I’ve been looking around the city with some of the foreign teachers. I’ve just come back from a huge amazing lunch which cost less than two US dollars! My use of chopsticks is pitiful though. A couple of Chinese ladies came over to watch us eat, and try and give me chopstick pointers. It was a little embarrassing because they were intense and I was just failing miserably, but it was fun at the same time, and there was so much laughter that I don’t really mind it being at my expense.

Early this morning I went out with two of the newer foreign teachers who only arrived a few days before me. One of the two teachers has been having a difficult time adjusting, and was looking for some kind of medicine to help him sleep. Out of the three of us I knew the most Chinese (which isn’t saying much!), so I tried to explain to the woman at the pharmacy that he could not sleep and needed medicine. She really seemed to understand me, and gave him some kind of pills to take back. We then checked the pills out with one of the Chinese teachers, to make sure they were safe, etc. He seemed either amused or embarrassed, and explained to us that the pills we’d bought were only for women. We think that they’re something for menstrual cramps.

Anyway, I’m hoping that I can improve my Chinese. Not many people in this area speak English, so I really have to use what Chinese I know, even if it’s next to nothing. I think that’s a good environment for learning a language, so no complaints here.

I still have a couple of days to hang out and get used to things before I start teaching.

For the time being I’m completely happy, a little dazed, and having a lot of fun.

Advertisement



29th August 2008

Everyone seems to be making you feel welcome. You'll need that if and when the homesickness strikes. Have a fantastic time!
29th August 2008

Chopsticks
When it's do or die, you'll be surprised how fast you'll pick up using chopsticks. Sometimes I prefer them to a knife and fork.
29th August 2008

It sounds like things are going great! :)
29th August 2008

yay!
Wonderful! Sounds so exciting. You must email me your snail mail address.
29th August 2008

This seems so surreal and awesome. And funny! It seems that the pharmacy woman only understood "Not sleeping" and assumed that it was for you. (What else but a period would stop a woman from sleeping? right?) I'm glad you're safe and having fun. (Is it a million degrees out? Did our shopping excursions turn out to be successful?)
29th August 2008

I'm so glad you're doing well and having a good time. And bully for you for knowing more Chinese than the other teachers!
29th August 2008

:-)
Glad you're settling in OK. They say the best way to learn a language is immersion, so you should improve your Chinese skills in no time!
30th August 2008

I told you this before, but I am thrilled you're there safely and that everything is going so well!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb