Oot and Aboot...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
September 16th 2007
Published: September 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally remembered to take out my camera on a few of my trips around campus. ENJOY!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

North Gate by NightNorth Gate by Night
North Gate by Night

This is one of the main entrances to the campus. I love the glowing red lanterns.
Back Alley Food Outside South East GateBack Alley Food Outside South East Gate
Back Alley Food Outside South East Gate

Nick and I stumbled on this great little nook of delicious.
Choose-Your-Own-Adventure DiningChoose-Your-Own-Adventure Dining
Choose-Your-Own-Adventure Dining

You point to it, they throw it in a wok.
This Lady Knows How I Like ItThis Lady Knows How I Like It
This Lady Knows How I Like It

I went to her once. When I came back the next time, she started whipping up my favorite combo of veggies and meats and such. And she asks if you want peppers, which I really appreciate.
Such a proSuch a pro
Such a pro

Enough rice or noodles for two meals for less than a dollar.
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

The landscaping here is quite beautiful.
Cafeteria...i think.Cafeteria...i think.
Cafeteria...i think.

I use this building as a visual landmark. I call it the DNA building due to the double-helix-esque light fixtures near the entrance.
Female Fu DogFemale Fu Dog
Female Fu Dog

These two guardians are meant to be placed at the front door of the building in order to keep an eye on who enters it. They have the ability to discover the intentions that those who come into the house have. The female lion is seen with a cub lion under her foot and symbolizes Protection. She also represents yin.
Male Fu DogMale Fu Dog
Male Fu Dog

The male has his paw on a ball, which signifies the moon pearl which symbolizes blessings. The ball also represents the sun which is Yang. The male should be placed on the left side (as you are looking out of a door or window) and the female should be placed on the right side.
Harry Potter?Harry Potter?
Harry Potter?

I don't know who this is supposed to be, but this statue really reminds me of good ol' Harry Potter.
A good place for reading...A good place for reading...
A good place for reading...

I haven't actually read down here, yet. That is the plan, though.
Look Mom, I paid attention to composition!Look Mom, I paid attention to composition!
Look Mom, I paid attention to composition!

This is a nice little slice of China: the traditional circular windows cut into the wall (holding modern plastic bottles of tea), the trusty-rusty bicycle, and the group of elderly folks in the background practicing tai chi.


19th September 2007

Fantastic!
Hi there - Thanks so much for the updates. So fun to see where you are and what adventures you've found. It looks like a wonderful colorful place full of life, sound and, I'm guessing, wonderful smells around each corner. And, I'm sure there are aromas of other sorts too! Any way this can be sent to those folks who are in Japan, heading towards China? I'm sure they'd love to get a look at what's up for them! Hugs to you and Nick, Anna

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb