Shopping, Packages, Football, and Dancing Among Other Things


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Shiyan
January 8th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Dancing 51 secs
2: Baby Dancing 39 secs
Friday morning I got up about 7:15 and got ready to go to Shiyan. I left my house about 7:50 or so because I wanted to go get some egg bread. That stuff will motivate you to get up and go. ha. I ran into Zenobia on the way down there and explained what I was doing.

I got up to J & P's building and sat down at one of the little picnic tables. Zenobia came over, and then J & P walked up the stairs really soon after. J wasn't going, but he came out to say goodbye. The taxi was supposed to be there at 8 am. I called Nicole at 8:10. She said she'd call the taxi driver and tell him to come there. I think he got there at about 8:30.

We made really good time to Shiyan though. We got there by 10. The car ride was really rough - it was impossible to sleep. The taxi driver was actually a little creepy in my opinion. I think he kept throwing creepy glances to us in the backseat. Zenobia sat in the front, and she didn't even talk to him. I noticed Priscilla covering her nose.. turns out that he also had super bad breath, and it kind of permeated through the whole car when he spoke.. which was actually quite often because people kept calling him. I tried to play on my iPod, but I couldn't do it. I had to just close my eyes and listen to music. For some reason the car rides get me here.

We got to Shiyan and hit up the walking street. Priscilla bought jeans and a shirt. We went and ate at KFC. It was pretty good. I snatched 4 ketchup packets for emergencies. Kyle's got them in his jacket.. I don't know where I'll put mine, but I'm prepared for emergency situations with no ketchup.

After that we went to the Medical School campus. The reason: my package ended up there instead of DJK. We took a taxi because we figured that if we did that he'd just take us to the school and it'd be really easy to find where Finn was. He took us up a hill and when I called to ask where he lived, we were way far away. We had to trek back down the hill.

Zenobia asked this lady with a bird in a cage about where the foreigners lived. She said something, and then we ended up just standing there for a minute. We watched her attempt to put the cage up in a tree. It fell down on her, and what I hope was water got all over her.

A nice man told us which building it was, and so I called Finn. He said, "Where are you?" I said, "I think we're outside your building." So he opened the window and yelled down to us. We went up to his brother's apartment where he was. They were watching the National Championship with another guy. They're Bama fans. They have dogs too. They're sooo cute. I really want one.

We stayed for a few minutes and watched the rest of the game with them. Finn was leaving at 2 to go to a school in Kunming to study Chinese for a few weeks, and he hadn't packed yet. We got there around 1. ha. It was cool to see them, and I got my package.

We walked back to the walking street, and I got some shoes. I've said for months that I want some shoes, and I have yet to get them. So I finally got them. I realized while walking just how heavy that package was.

We left walking street and were looking for the Korean market. We got to this little place and Zenobia wanted to go look. She loves to dance, and there was a big group of people dancing in the middle of the square. It was pretty cool. She joined in one, Priscilla joined in one, and I just watched. We all know I have absolutely no ability to dance. haha. Oh the days of Makin' Music... I would have to practice so much more than everyone else because I just couldn't do it. That's why I always did choreography review.

Moving on, for those of you who don't know what I'm talking about. We got the taxi a little before 4. I was knocked out after I opened the box to see what all was in there. My mom packed that joker full. I was excited. The best part was the computer charger though.. good for me and Kyle. I know he's tired of having to give me his all the time. He sent me a message before I fell asleep and told me he bought our train tickets to Beijing. I'm pretty excited.

I woke up and we were in DJK... which means I slept through the crazy winding roads. I'm not sure how I did it, but I'm pretty glad I did. We got out at the gate, said goodbye to Zenobia, Priscilla went home, and I went home.

I had just gotten in and was about to go get dinner when someone knocked on my door. It was Jession. She gave me back my key, and she told me that none of the girls came today.. so we'll have to do it next week.

When she left, I left to go get some fried rice. I had to eat kind of quickly because I had students coming at 7. It took like a minute for them to cook it, and I was on my way.

Cindy, DeDe, and Sissi came. I gave them each a piece of chocolate and then let them drink some hot chocolate. They liked it. We talked for a little while, I took pictures with them so they could show their families. Cindy asked me if I could go with her to her hometown for the holiday because she was so sad she wouldn't see me for a month. She's so so so precious. I'm really glad that I've gotten to know her. She kept telling me that she would miss me and that I was her friend and she loved me. 😊

After they left I can't really remember what I did... I guess I just sent out that really long email that had about a week's worth of stuff in it and talked to some folks online. It was a good day... a long one, but a good one.

I am waiting on videos to upload. I've got one done, but there are two more. The window that pops up when you upload videos is funny. This is what it says: "Your video is being uploaded this could take a really long time... so go have a cup of tea, coffee or something more healthy - consider orange juice. You can minimize this window - but don't close it! - and you can continue browsing or editing your blog in the other browser window." I drank some orange juice earlier while I was waiting. ha.

Advertisement



9th January 2010

Videos
I gave up on the third one. It's just more dancing.
10th January 2010

Split Britches!
I got really scared when the video of the baby started when I saw it had split britches!! Your earlier emails and stories of children doing their #2 business in the streets and all... had me worried!! I'm glad your Momma sent you goodies! I hope it was good stuff that you love! You are missed 8-)
21st January 2010

Roll Tide
I love that you watched some of the National Championship game! I hope you were cheering for Bama!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb