This week!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Heilongjiang » Harbin
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, I've had an eventful week. First on Thursday one of my classes took me to the fruit vendors and told us to buy some fruit (she watched us so we weren't gesturing and using hand signals 😊. I bought grapes that turned out to be extremely sour as they were way too young, I forgot that outside the US growing seasons mean something, haha! Saturday was the biggest day as we left at 9 AM and they promised us that by 11 we'd be off the bus and scaling the mountain. We got there at noon because of rain and getting lost. They drive a lot slower on the highways than we do, the speed limit for buses is 100 km/hr (62 mph) and I don't think that the bus ever really exceeded that as it took us 5 minutes to do 5 kilometers when I looked the one time. The park itself was beautiful, definitely not overdeveloped like every other park I've been to in China, very natural and cool (in the idea sense, not temperature wise). The hike up the mountain took the better part of an hour and a half to two hours. I probably waked up 500 stairs, and probably 2-3 miles of rather steep elevation. The end result was worth it though, as the Chinese countryside more than makes up for their cities. If you haven't seen my pictures yet, take a look here:

http://ohio.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2144923&l=3b8c2&id=12302893

I'm doing well, just a little sore from the mountain, haha! I hope you all are doing well and I'll write more this coming week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb