When Boredom Meets White Walls


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hebei » Tangshan » Zunhua
September 24th 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My entire apartment is painted a very stunning shade of WHITE. It's not off-white, or eggshell, or snow white. It's just WHITE. So, so, so very white. If I were staying here for longer than five months, I might invest in more pictures, prints, or maybe even petition for an accent wall, but since my stay here is so short, I don't really want to sink any money into my apartment.

However, I kind of started hating the vast expanses of white wall all around me, and decided something had to be done. This week, all my demo classes have been cancelled, so I decided to try and DIY some color/ interest on the walls. I used a little inspiration from a Good Morning America segment where a home decorator suggested using accessories as decorations.

Over my bed, I placed four hooks and put my scarves there to add some color. Next to the scarves, I decided to hang my jewelry on the wall instead of putting it in a box.

I made an earing holder out of a fly swatter! I wasn't able to find any mesh fabric, so I cut the handle off a fly swatter and it works perfectly.

In my office, I hung my purses along the wall instead of storing them in my closet. It's not the most upscale looking decoration, but at least it breaks up the white.

Future goals: have my next residence be an apartment I can paint.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



24th September 2012

Necessity is the mother of INVENTIONS.
24th September 2012

hahaha you are so right!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb