Life begins....wait...there is an END?!?!?!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hebei » Shijiazhuang
March 19th 2006
Published: March 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Life begins when…wait…YOU MEAN THERE IS AN END!


As most are aware there are milestones in ones life…

Your first words, your first bicycle, your first day in school, first kiss, first job…I could go on adinfinitum about the significant points of my life, but I won’t bore you with that.

Well I will bore you with one point…holy SHIT, I am turning 40! First off, I never thought I would make past 21, well 25 at the most. I review and analyze, change and delete, add and subtract it all, but it still comes up to being forty.

I watch as the world around me is swallowed in its own mirth and smiles as I feel like I am sometimes sitting on the sidelines waiting for the coach to say “Ok Johnston, get you ass in the game, we need you”, but it never comes. I think that sometimes I was too busy not listening when the “coach” said that, but I think with turning 40 you start to realize that you have two ways to play… by yourself, and lord knows that is a boring place or with others…I have so much to give and if I sit back and not placate to the ageless ideas of that when you turn 40, you become some wise old sage, spouting proverbs, and smoking a pipe as your young protégés sit and swallow everything that comes out of your mouth.

No, I choose life, I choose to be a player in it, someone that listens more than talks, acts versus’ thinks, loves without end, offers hope and just maybe, just maybe…give someone something they might be missing in their lives…an ear that listens not for what is bad and wrong, but just listens.

So my friends, Romans (ode to Dalby), countrymen…lend me your ear, I will not dispense of timeless wisdom that you can read at your local library or read on one of the multitudes of propaganda posters around our beloved country…but what I will offer you is my friendship, my laughter, my tears, and my heart. I promise I will never make you wrong, I will never belittle your existence, I promise you I will honor our pact as brothers and sisters in this bluish, green, brown, sometimes hot, sometimes cold world we know as Earth…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb