Gimpy Elbow Causes Delay


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guizhou » Guiyang
April 9th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

gimpy elbowgimpy elbowgimpy elbow

Damn Kebab grease on the road
Wednesday April 9th 2008

I'm sitting writing this entry from Guiyang, I still haven't set off on my trip yet. I spent last week travelling to Nanning to put my passport into the Vietnamese Embassy to get my Visa sorted. I took an interesting picture in the Nanning Bus Station, a good example of the beauty that is 'Chinglish.' Check out the "Bus Station Loving Service", not a dating service or seedy hooker booking service as it might suggest, but actually just a customer service booth. I met a guy in Nanning, a young Brit called Liam, who had just spent the last week in Yangshuo chilling with my friend Monkey Jane and my dog, Xiao Maxy. We went out and had a few beers, but to be honest, Nanning is a bit of a hole. I did find a nice food street on my last night there, where I managed to buy a plate full of fresh prawns and some Oysters, washed down with five big ass bottles of beer for the princely sum of 3 quid. After enjoying this feast I randomly met an old Hungarian guy who has emigrated to South Africa and has a business exporting goods from China to S.A. His name escapes me, but he treated me to a few beers and we had a great chat for an hour.

This weekend will be my final weekend of work then I will leave on the 15th April, ten days behind schedule. The main reason for my delay as you can see from the picture, is a gimpy elbow I picked up when I was riding around the city in Guiyang. I went flying off my bike and luckily landed on grass, but I did manage to give my elbow an almighty twist. It's started to get better now, but it feels like it is still dislocated. I might have to ask my mates to get Bruce Willis on it's ass and pop it back into place. Eek!

Everything is set for my departure next week, I have all my shit that I am sending on to Guangzhou packed in boxes, I have said most of my goodbyes(a few times over) and I have my bags packed and ready to go. Theres a few pic's of my still as nameless bike, but I will give her a name when I hit the road.
Dating serviceDating serviceDating service

Feeling lonely?
I also uploaded some of my pictures from my last days in Guiyang, just for memories sake.

Thanks again to all who sponsored me, I really appreciate it, and CAMKIDS appreciate it even more, I'm sure. I'll update the page on leaving day. If you subscribe to this blog, you will automatically recieve an email when I update the site. Peace Out. G



Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb