Lazing on the Li


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
November 15th 2011
Published: December 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Writing in retrospect I look back on my time in Yangshuo with a warm heart. The blissful summer sun, swimming in the Li, cycling the country roads, hiking moonshaped mountains, exploring abandoned caves. I can honestly say this is one of the most beautiful places in the country and I spent it with wonderful company.

The unusually shaped Karst peaks famed for their appearance on the 20RMB note rise from the ground in spectacular abundance. In geographic terms Karst Topography is a landscape shaped by the dissolution of a layer or layers of soluble bedrock (normally rock such as limestone/dolomite).Which means that millions of years ago, the Yangshuo/Guilin area was a gulf and as the earths crust shifted the sea gave way to land and this stunning scenery was formed.

As the mountains are made of limestone many collapse with weather erosion, time and soft instability of the rock and create beautiful shapes which inspire wonderful names such as Moon Hill(Yangshuo), Elephant Trunk Hill(Guilin), Nine Horse Nine Fresco Hill(Guilin). Inside the peaks dark caverns are forms and many caves are open to the public, the most noteworth are Crown Cave(Guilin), Reed Flute Cave(Guilin) and Moon Hill Mudcaves(Yangshuo),where you can bathe in mud and man made hotsprings.

As Yangshuo if filled with tourists Chinese and foreign alike I opted to stay just out of the town centre in a small village, when I arrived it was pitch black and the only sounds I could hear were the rolling croaks of bullfrogs and the chirruping of crickets. The world of car horns and insane cyclists seemed a million miles and a lifetime away from here I felt so at home already.

I can't express my love for this place, or the peace of mind and friendship I experienced here. I only hope my photos sing the praise I cannot put into words. I also wish to thank the girls for their wonderful company and taking care of me when I was ill. I hope you are both enjoying your adventures and are safe, happy and filled with adventure. Much love girls.

Ciao for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb