The enchantments of The Mekong Delta


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
June 17th 2011
Published: June 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MarketMarketMarket

Floating. Thats how they do it here.
I am very lazy. I have almost done no writing and I am several days and two countries behind schedule. I will work to make this more up to date as fast as possible.

On another note, Yangshuo is a fantastic and beautiful place, well worth a visit. I have one more full day here before heading towards Beijing. There have been no real problems with the tour so far except for a storm in Siem Reap that delayed my flight a bit. But I managed to get to Bangkok in time for my transitflight to Hong Kong. Anyway here is my recollection of the trip to the Mekong Delta. Enjoy.

Day 11
Farewell Saigon, I will return again soon. I set my sights on the Mekong Delta with start in the town of Cai Be. The road was long and boring, not much was done except brushing up on my knowledge of the Mekong area. After a few hours we arrived at the town and went straight for the canals. Here a rented boat waited for us which was to take us on a tour of the area before delivering us in Can Tho. I got to see
SunSunSun

Just enjoying the nice weather
a small floating market, consisting of a few large boats and a lot of smaller boats darting back and forth between eachother while trying to sell things. Each of the boats had a pole on the top that had, whatever they were selling strapped to it as a flag. Most of them sold vegetables and roots of different kinds. We were taken to a place with small workshops where they produced several types of vietnamese candy and snacks. They even made rice-popcorn (Poprice?). After sampling a few of their delicious wares, we headed in to the small natural canals of the Mekong with a lush green growth of plants and trees with their large roots firmly planted in the waterbed. We stopped to have a lunch consisting of the areas specialties including, but not limited to fried Elephantear-fish, fresh springrolls that you had to roll yourself which created some hilarious faliures some of the times and a delicious, fresh assortment of fruits. It was fantastic fun. Lastly we arrived to the other side of this encloused area, which ended in a huge river that streched all the way to the sea. At the other end of the river lay Can
It's a snake!It's a snake!It's a snake!

Nothing like scaring small children.
Tho, our last stop for the day. I was taken to the hotel which lay by the riverfront and said my goodbyes to the guide. Then I promptly went up to the room to sleep for an hour. After a refreshing rest, I decided to explore the area a bit. I went to town and found several markets which I spent some hours walking around in. The weather looked a bit omnious so I went to get something to eat. This turned out to be a wise choice as, not two minutes after I went in to the roofed open area restaurant, the sky opened up and sent down a cascade of neverending rain. After spending an hour or so at the restaurant, I wanted to go home. Since it still rained furiously and since I had no umbrella with me, I did the sensible thing and waited a bit before heading home. Oh wait no, I just walked home in the rain, getting a bit drenched on the way. As I returned to the hotel I heard loud music coming from the hotelclub. I went up to check it out and was greeted by guards in suits, that showed me the way. I should have been suspicious by this point, but I did not think of it. As I neared the doors, the music got even louder, reaching a level only found in a continious thunderstorm. I opened the door and walked about three steps in befoe stopping. In the club there was maybe four servants and four guards, me and about twenty something vietnamese girls so dressed up that they looked like a parody of hookers. This however I think was not the case. Beeing the only guy in the whole club apart from the servants, I took one look at it all before turning around and walking back out and up to my room. That was just not what I had in mind when I thought about getting a beer. A bit surrealistic to say the least.

Day 12
Early up to see a huge floating market on the river by Can Tho. It was like the one from yesterday only five or ten times bigger with boats in almost every size selling stuff. We were taken further in to the Mekong, to a fruitplantage where we were taken on a small tour to see the
I'm lost, please help me.I'm lost, please help me.I'm lost, please help me.

Just take a left by the bush in the river, you can't miss it.
beautiful area and afterwards had a sampling of some of the fruits. We were dropped off in the by one of the small canals and proceded to walk through small villages and markets. A lot of fun and a chance to see the everyday life close –up. We were picked up by the driver and taken to a small village not far from there where we visited a house that had been there for ages and still stood almost untouched, with a beautiful garden and a friendly family living there. Then we returned to Saigon and I had the rest of the night off. This was spent with one of the vietnamese girls, Anh, I met yesterday at the pub and we had great time walking around in Saigon. We ended up at the same pub and stayed there for some hours, here I even met a danish girl I also met yesterday at the pub, so we all three had a lot of fun. In the words of Ice Cube “I gotta say, today was a good day”.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

SleepySleepy
Sleepy

Hammock so comfortable, but I really must move on.
Upgraded marketUpgraded market
Upgraded market

Now with 60% more ships!
Selling thingsSelling things
Selling things

This is how we do it
Move!Move!
Move!

Or I will hit you with my stick!
Yo!Yo!
Yo!

Whatcha looking at?!
PlantagePlantage
Plantage

That's how we grow them fruits!
Flowers!Flowers!
Flowers!

They are everywhere.
BeforeBefore
Before

Before I used to be bald and boring. Then I found out about XpressGrow!
AfterAfter
After

Now my life is so much better! Thanks XpressGrow!
Them JacksThem Jacks
Them Jacks

Jackfruits!
ChillChill
Chill

Chillin's the way to go
CribCrib
Crib

My sweet new crib.
Oh so prettyOh so pretty
Oh so pretty

Oooh pretty!
GardenGarden
Garden

Nothing special about this.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb