China, first impression


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

My second day in China is very cold (as the first day). I am quite south (near Guilin) and I was thinking that south = warm / hot and north = cold. But it appears that all China is very cold except, maybe, south Yunan, near the border of Laos and Vietnam, so I might head there if it would be too cold.
In order to fight back, I bought some warm cloths, very cheap ones, in Guilin. Guilin is a very modern city. I did my shopping in an underground market, similar to the one in Toronto.
Today, on the afternoon, I have arrived to Yangshuo, about one hour from Guilin, which is, as decribed in the guide back: 'a traveller's Mecca'.
In spite of the cold weather, there are quite a few backpackers here and it seems that my guest house is quite full. The atmosphere here, at a first glance, seems to be very pleasent.
Yesterday I made the long journey from Hanoi to Guilin. Started at 6AM, 3 buses, 2 taxis, 1 border crossing - I have arrived at 21.30 to Guilin.
At the beginning, I was a bit stressed of China, mainly becuase of the langauge. However, China appeared to be much easier to travel then I have expected. This is much was due to the guide book, the essential phrase book and some wonderful people (both Viatnamese and Chinese) that helped me and 'supported' me the whole way.
I have crossed the border with 2 Viatnamese women that travelled with me from Hanoi until the Chinese border town of Pingxiang. One of them could speak Mandarin so this was of much help. They also invited me to breakfast and to the taxi to Pingxiang. Since they continued to Guandzhou (near Hong Kong) and I, to Guilin, we seperated at Pingxiang. From there I have continued to Nanning, on the way to Guilin.
While I was standing at the line at Nanning bus station in order to buy ticket to Guilin, a women approached me, asking me if I need any help.
She then helped me to buy a ticket but I have realized that I did not have enough money (10% less) and it appeared that the nearest bank is actually quite far away. In contrary to Vietnam, they don't accept US dollars. So, she took me to the station manager and he agreed that I'll buy the ticket with the 90% that I had.
On the bus to Guilin, the man sitting next to me, kept feeding me with sunflower seeds (quite similar to the ones we have in Israel) and I was their amusement for the bus trip.
The roads are very good though it seems that except buses and trucks, they are hardly used. The buses are also very modern. As in Thailand buses there is a well dressed stewardess that serves drinks and food.
As many other forcast, it does seem that China is going to be the next superpower.

Bye, Sharon

Advertisement



21st January 2006

Thanks
Thanks for that. Very interesting. My experiences in China have been similar....the people are generally kind, helpful and interested. Good luck with your adventure. Michael Oh yeh my yacht is going REALLY well....
21st January 2006

מעניין המוטיב האנושי
יפה שאת מתארת מפגשים עם אנשים שרוצים לעזור. הייתי מתעניין לדעת במה עוסקים אנשים אלו, אפילו שמותיהם כדי שאוכל ליצור איתם ב'כאילו', אינטראציה אישית.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb