Dazhai - Pignan 22nd - 23rd July


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Longji Rice Terraces
July 26th 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The bus rideThe bus rideThe bus ride

very rocky, but I got there safely

Longji Rice Terraces



English below

Seit ich in Guilin angekommen bin, war ich mit Wandern, Radfahren und Klettern sehr beschaeftigt. Somit hatt ich nicht viel Zeit meinen Blog zu aktualisieren.

Ich kann mich nicht mehr wirklich an die genaueren Details meiner Tagestouren erinnern. Jedoch die Longji Reisterrassen werde ich sicherlich niemals vergessen. Der Weg durch die Reisterrassen dauerte 6 Stunden und ich hatte die schönste Landschaft von China vor mir. Das dachte ich zumindest. Angeblich ist die Landschat 10mal schoener bei der Tigersprung-Schlucht wohin ich sehr bald gehen werde.

Als ich durch die Reisterrassen wanderte fühlte es sich an als waere ich alleine mit den Bergen und meiner Kamera. Ich traf nur auf 3 kleine Touristen-Gruppen. Die Wanderung ging durch mehrere Dörfer wo die Einheimischen dir anbieten dich bis nach Pignan zu begleiten. Obwohl es nicht schwierig das letzte Dorf Pignan zu finden, lohnt es sich einen Begleiter zu bezahlen, da es so billig ist. Dort sind auch viele Yao-Frauen, die dir anbieten ihre komplexe Frisur zu zeigen für ca. 10 Yuan. Ich habe weder einen Begleiter gebraucht, noch habe ich mir die Frisur der Yao Frauen angesehen. Es war so viel schöner den Weg alleine
the ride wentthe ride wentthe ride went

through various small towns
zu gehen und das lange Haar der Yao Frauen hatte ich auch schon gesehen. Die Bilder davon sind im Guilin Blog.
Für einen Teil des Weges haben mich lokale Kinder begleitet. Diese haben Ihr Englisch geübt und schrien Sätze aus, wie zum Beispiel, "I love you", "How are you", "Where are you from"; aber dies war auch schon alles. Meine Antwort haben die Kinder nicht verstanden.

Die Weg ist ca. 20 km lang. Ich fand es war die Muehe wert als ich dann endlich in Pignan angekommen bin. Als ich am Abend in Pignan ankam, war ich sehr müde und hungrig. Zum Abendessen gab es dann gedämpften Reis im Bambus. Und nach ein paar Bier war ich fix und fertig. Ich bin um 9Uhr abends schlafen gegangen.

Wenn man durch die Doerfer laeuft, sieht man das arme Dorfleben der Einheimischen. Das hat mich daran erinnert, dass mein Leben genau so haette aussehen koennen, waeren meine Eltern nicht nach Deutschland umgezogen. Ich wuerde unter den aermsten Bedingungen aufwachsen und Dank meiner Eltern kann ich mir nun diese Weltreise leisten.




I've been very busy hiking, cycling and climbing ever since I got to Guilin and haven't managed to update the travel blog.

To some extend I can't remember the exact details of my several day trips, but I certainly remember going through Longji's rice terraces for 6 hours with the most beautiful views in China. Having said that I'm about to hike the Tiger Leaping Gorge and that is supposed to be 10 times better in terms of hiking as well as the views.

When I hiked the rice terraces I felt like it was me, the mountains and my camera. I only bumped into 3 small tourist groups during my 6 hour hike and went through several villages where the locals offer you to be your private tour guide all the way to Pignan. Although it is not difficult to find the final village Pignan it is worth considering paying a guide as it is so cheap. There are also various Yao women who will offer to show their ridiculously complex hairstyle for about 10 Yuan. I did neither ask for a guide nor did I ask the Yao women to show me their hairstyle. It was so much nicer to walk the trail by myself and I also had seen the Yao's long hair before.
For a part of the trail I was followed by local children who practiced their English and screamed out sentences such as 'I love you', ' How are you', 'Where are you from'; but this would be it. They certainly didn't understand my response.

The trek is about 20km long. It was so rewarding to arrive in Pignan. By the time I got there I was so tired and hungry. So I had steamed rice in bamboo on a roof top and after a couple of beers I was ready for bed. It was only 9pm.

One thing I've come to really appreciate during my hike. There are so many poor people in the villages or the village life reminded me very much of who I could have become had my parents not moved to Germany when I was 6 years old. I would be in our village on the fields living in the poorest conditions just as you can see from the pictures of the village buildings. So thanks to my parents I'm actually able to do my round the world trip and appreciate what I have.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

My way went throughMy way went through
My way went through

narrow paths like these....
...and right through the ...and right through the
...and right through the

Longji rice terraces
I needed a break andI needed a break and
I needed a break and

take in those beautiful views
..on the way you meet..on the way you meet
..on the way you meet

a lot of people who will try to sell you anything to get your money....
Snack on the goSnack on the go
Snack on the go

Rice in Banana leaf
..and finally dinner....and finally dinner..
..and finally dinner..

..on a terrace with more gorgeous scenery. I was so knackered. I think you can see it.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Steamed rice in bamboo
Public transport Public transport
Public transport

for lazy westerners


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb