Hong kong and homecoming


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong
May 17th 2016
Published: May 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong. One of the most densely populated cities on earth. A city with a clearly noticable colonial history, mixture of cultures and a very impressive skyline. Arriving in Hong Kong was a nice change from the western, New Zealand. Especially because I could see Salman again, whom I had not seen for 9 months. I stayed in his dorm with 3 other dudes so that was nice and cozy. The humidity in Hong Kong was what I noticed first. It's at a whopping 93% almost all of the time! The sun was shining and the weather was sweet so my day began very good. Sal and I had some very good lunch and it was great to catch up. He had school so I headed out to the peak for the day. The peak is the highest vantage point in Hong Kong which gives a fantastic view of Hong Kong. I took the tram up, that was a nice experience. Arriving at the top I noticed this was an area very much catered to tourists. But the view that was advertised, was advertised correctly. A 360° view of the city was amazing. Officially Hong Kong had to be 67% green. And that was clear to see! Even though it is a huge sprawling city, it still maintains a very green atmosphere. I went out every evening with my new found friends, so I won't tread in to details about that 😉 My next sightseeing tour was the Tian Tan Buddha statue. I was excited to see some more temples and Buddha statues again, because I enjoyed them alot in Japan. And it was an impressive sight indeed. The temples were okay, but the statue was obviously what people came here for. Man Mon temple was on my list so I checked that out the same day. It was good but not as good as some stuff I have seen in Japan. Mon Kok market was my last day in Hong Kong and that was a weird place to be. Said to be the most densely populated neighbourhood in the world, I was expecting extreme crowds. It was not that bad at all! There was plenty of space to walk around in that it made the walks quite comfortable. The Kowloon park was really nice too. It still amazes me how they have such a nicely preserved park right next to the massive skyline buildings. What I can say for certain is that Hong Kong is a must see city. The food is diverese and amazing, the sightseeing is top notch and there are alot of cool nightlife areas. All in all I am very glad I went there and had the chance to see Sal again.

Coming home. I had no idea how I would react to being back in the city I love and grew up in. Seeing all my family and friends was really, really good and it warms my heart that I have such loving relationships to go back to. It took some getting used to being back in Amsterdam because it so vastly different from the places I had been in. But besides that, it's good to be back. I now know I want to live in Japan for a time, so I have a goal to work towards to. To come back on my first blogpost: have I changed? Hell, yes.

Peace out
*drops the microphone*



Advertisement



17th May 2016

copy that! Papa

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb