On the Mainland


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong
May 20th 2006
Published: May 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it to China yesterday evening. I met up with Tits yesterday at noon adn then he showed me around Macau, which is great. We then went for a wonderful dinner at a nice Portugese restaurant... fanciest place I've been in so long, felt kinda out of place. Too many forks, knives and spoons, cloth napkin, Perrier! LOL We then went to sock up on some good wine & port there because there are no taxes and it's much cheaper... 7 bottles later.
After that we headed to the border crossing where I got my 90 day visa (just to be on the safe side) and then q'd in the long lines to enter China. I had forgotten how people here are. It's great... well entertaining to say the least. As we waited in the only visitor lin amongst 40 of them, we got to watch people run like mad people, pushing and shoving as if teh place was on fire adn there were only one exit to get out of there, as they opened up another line to let people go through customs... LOL Oh so funny! We finally made it through around 8pm or so.
As soon as you cross, the pollution just hits you.
Tits brought me to my hotel, newly built a few months ago, so really nice clean rooms, tv, a/c, etc.. it's sweet! Only 68RMP!(About 8$ a night, very cheap for China).
We then went to his place and met up with his girlfriend and then headed to one of his fellow Canadian friends and started on the wine & port. It's funny how TEFL teachers no matter where they are have the same stories, and after a few years abroad teaching, after work, they never cease to talk about it.. my student this... oh it was so cute when... LOL
Tits & Sharleen just met up with me here and now we're off to go for brunch adn then venture through the town. I think I may just do some shopping for some new clothes.. Woohoo! and maybe a new pair of shoes... uh-oh!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb