I'm Alive!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhongshan
August 11th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TempleTempleTemple

The Buddhist Temple was surrounded by vegetation so it was hard to really get back and capture the entire structure without being obscured.
Ni Hao friendly people,

I'm still alive and kicking in the PRC. Sorry about the lack of an update as of late. I had a really busy week of school and then I managed to get sick with some nasty little bug that really put me out of commission. Happy to report that I am feeling a LOT better and should be in tip top shape in no time. If I had to guess I'd say it was caused by strange hybrid mix of heat, stinky tofu, and 1000 year old eggs. I will probably never know... BUT 1000 year old eggs are REAL, and I did eat them, you shouldn't. Ha Actually they are pretty harmless but they do look like the name implies. The past couple weeks have been filled with teaching, Buddhist temple visiting, teaching, preparing for superstardom, being sick, and teaching.

Teaching has sorta kicked my butt lately. A good portion of my day is eaten just planning for lessons I will teach later. Although I have fallen in love with some of my classes. I had one class of teenagers that I really had a lot of fun teaching. The students all spoke decent
The resortThe resortThe resort

beeee ooootiful!
english which gave me the opportunity to really connect with them. Everyone has a distinct personality and its awesome to see them grow and open themselves up during the course. They seemed to really enjoy me as a teacher too (they brought me candy treats!). Sounds corny but it was truely very rewarding and I will miss them.

One nice day I decided to have class outside in the park. The kids LOVED it, I'm pretty sure they have never gone outside for a class before. I also like to bring them candy treats, when I have the opportunity, and of course STICKERS. I got a new batch of stickers from America (Thank you mom!). I even got some Scratch N Sniff! You can't imagine how much they love them, I think I'm already out of the strawberry. I never go to class without a full assortment of stickers. The word is too that I have more stickers on the way (Thanks Aunt Chris!!). Teaching is a lot of fun, you can find ways to be creative and do new things everyday.. IF YOU WANT. I think I'd go crazy if I had to invent completely new activities everyday.
resortresortresort

another picture of everyone swimming and having fun


Buddhist Temple Day! I visited a Buddhist temple and it was truely breathtaking. The temple was positioned high in a mountain jungle with a lake to its back while overlooking a waterfall.. I can't make that up. The experience was both peaceful and surreal. The mountain fog combined with the rich smell of burning incense created a dreamlike atmosphere. I was in awe. The scene did not require a forced pause of feigned appreciated. The place simply grabbed you and sucked you in. No paltry description or pictures can do it justice. It is a sight you need to see for yourself.

The trip to the temple was part of a larger trip planned by TPR (my school) to get the staff out for some BBQ and relaxation. We went to a beautiful resort for some swimming and food. The pool area was located in a valley between some mountains outside of the cities. The place looks like an exotic getway (I guess it is). We all swam and ate delicious food late into the night. Buckets o Fun!

Although being the tropics and being in the jungle insects are the size of dinner plates. They can
DragonsDragonsDragons

Dragons are outside many of the banks.. to protect the treasure inside I guess huh
be really pretty freaky. I took pictures of some spiders the size of my hand (see pictures). I also had one spider go down that back of my shirt. I knew right away something had fallen down my shirt but it was so large my brain never even thought to think it could possibly be a spider. I assumed it was a huge chunk of bark that had fallen off a tree or something.. NOPE. Looking back Im really glad I didn't know what had happened untill after I got the "bark" out of my shirt.

Lastly while I was at the resort I took pictures with maybe 200 Chinese people. I don't know where they were coming from, but it must be an area of China that never sees foreigners. They were all very nice and I gave my best victory sign (peace sign) for all of them. Times like this I feel very foreign but super cool. The school has taken a lot of pictures of me too, at parties and stuff, and I'm starting to spot pictures of me on little displays for TPR around the school. I know current teachers who are on billboards for
ChineseChineseChinese

A Chinese charater written on a boulder. I think it means something like good luck or fate brought us together.
TPR on the expressway and stuff. I'm hoping they are really just grooming me to be the new face of TPR. I think it would be really cool to see my ugly mug plastered 50 feet in the air staring over the city. Can't wait!!

Well thats all for now folks. Again thanks for all the comments and support. Feels good hearing from people back home, especially when you arn't feeling that good yourself! Take care, untill next time - Zai Jian!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

DRAGON!!DRAGON!!
DRAGON!!

RRAAA!!!!!!!!
YUMYUM
YUM

BBQ time at the resort.
Food.Food.
Food.

uhh noodly thing on the right and deep fried pork with REAL cheese on the left.
Prayer ThingPrayer Thing
Prayer Thing

These incense shrines are outside many shops to bless the building. I even have one outside my apartment from the last tenant.
BarkBark
Bark

The bark that fell down my shirt
lakelake
lake

lake area that was behind the temple
templetemple
temple

those huge pots are burning incense 24/7
templetemple
temple

I couldn't take a good picture to save my soul. I didn't want to take my camera inside the actual temple I thought it would be disrespectful.
TempleTemple
Temple

person praying
Computer districtComputer district
Computer district

Part of computer world. three story mall of computer parts everywhere. Where I bought my printer.
Dinner PlateDinner Plate
Dinner Plate

Spider sized dinner plate.. I mean..
MeowMeow
Meow

These little cats are inside many stores. I am confused about the meaning, its something about how the cat brings in the money.
Big chickenBig chicken
Big chicken

My mate from the UK brought the most delicious chicken in China to the cookout
MapMap
Map

A homemade map, IN ENGLISH, made just for me. I have recieved gifts from people more often than I'll ever tell you.
Strawberry JuiceStrawberry Juice
Strawberry Juice

Have you had strawberry juice in a can? its Grrrrreat!
Street foodStreet food
Street food

I really don't know what that stuff in the pot is but everyone eats it. Otherwise we have dumplings to the left and eggs top left


12th August 2009

Looks like a lot of fun at the resort and the temple was beautiful. I liked the "bark" story Ben
12th August 2009

...of spiders and old eggs...
Okay Nate... Spiders that are nearly the size of CELL PHONES! That's just gross! And I don't know if I'm buying the "thousand year old egg" thing... I mean, how would anyone KNOW the eggs were that old... unless, of course, there are 1100 year old people! :-) (I'm afraid to ask...) [As always, great update. Keep em' comin' please]
12th August 2009

Spiders
A spider like that falling on me would have been the end of me. You are very brave....and quite funny and witty too! Love reading all of your stories. Thanks for sharing. Love, Aunt Lyn
12th August 2009

Joe said that he can imagine your mug suspended in the air on a giant bilboard and is quite excited at the prospect. He wants you to take a picture to include in your resume. Those spiders are rediculous, it reminds me of the size of the insects on the Dinosaur ride at Animal Kingdom. We leave Friday for the trip and will miss having you around. Enjoying the posts.
17th August 2009

So glad to get an update on your activities. I think a Koffel billboard would be awesome, after all there is already a Koffel mountain! The spiders you can definitely keep, I'd have nightmares for weeks about them following me home. Ask Michele, Emily and your Mom about our "in-house" bat adventures this past weekend. That's about the most adventurous I can get. Love, Aunt Ann
25th August 2009

Wonderful reading
Dear Nathan: Tom up-dated my computer so I finally was able to read all your newsy letters and marvel at the wonderful pictures you've taken. What an adventure! I loved reading every word. Consider me a fan. I will see Rita and Jim, Bill and Dorothy, Liz and Craig, Lyn and Drew this weekend at Ben Bruning's wedding. Should be fun. I can't wait to read your next installment. Love, Grandma

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb