It should have many romantic stories here, what a fantasying crescent moon spring!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Gansu » Dunhuang
September 24th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

If I were a Kong Fu film director, I would definitely choose here as one location.

Beautiful, mysterious and unreal feeling will surround you if you come there, especially during a cloudless night. Sands are singing around. However, you find it is a truly peaceful world.

The water from underground is less and less. To avoid it drying up, they lead another river to supply. However, it seems the water is too much now.

The crescent moon spring has been there for centuries. But I am not sure weather it can exist for another centuries, even though we have technology to fulfill it with more water.

Any way, so many beautiful things are dying day by day. I am lucky when I have chance to have a look at some of them.

Yes I was in a real desert. But the city was so nearby. It looked like this desert was the garden of it.

I slipped down from the top of the sand hill. This was the main activity for tourists here. I might not choose a good time to do it. The sky was totally dark, it seemed I dropped into the unknown dark by a really high speed.

But I still could see a light. It came from a tower just besides the spring. It might be the gate in a tale, through where you would see a kind granny with nice food and drink.

What if I told you that were not just an imagination? I got a cup of ice apricot juice there, which was unbelievable good! May be I shouldn’t name it as apricot juice. It was actually made from the skin of apricots. White apricot is one local specialty. It has very limit production. You know it is in the desert after all. And the price is very high. I don’t think we can buy the real Dunhuang white apricots in other places. They are just looked white.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



27th September 2012
the sand

Love this picture
One more place I need to visit !
28th September 2012
the sand

indeed!!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb