Gulangyu and the Aquarium


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen » Gulangyu
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Man TouMan TouMan Tou

This is steamed bread, a common breakfast food. This particular one is pumpkin flavoured, but it doesn't taste very good. The standard ones are better.
Located about 3 minutes by ferry from Xiamen, there is a popular tourist spot called Gulangyu Island. It has many museums and sights, which I did not see because it was raining. But I did go to the aquarium.

There are no cars on the island, just trams that are at a constant risk of running someone down. The ferry to the island is jam-packed, and they load the passengers on almost like cattle, but it's a very short trip, so it's not unpleasant.

Aquariums are a really tough place to take pictures. Low light, moving fishies, lots of reflection... but I did the best I could, maybe some are worthwhile.

At two separate times, a person came up and asked for a picture with me. To some people, seeing a foreigner is rarer than a hammerhead shark, or somesuch.

I got pretty sick from eating cheap food, twice, but I'm not going to let that stop me.

I'm not sure why, but it seems the busiest place in the city on a saturday night at 10, is Walmart. Hundreds of people, probably thousands, crowding every aisle.

My apartment is full of cockroaches. I
FerryFerryFerry

This is someone else's ferry. I tried to take a picture of the one I was in, but I got sick of the safety officer yelling at me and throwing the life preserver on my head every time I jumped in.
kill them all day, but there's no end.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

GulangyuGulangyu
Gulangyu

It was a very overcast day.
Dolphin StatueDolphin Statue
Dolphin Statue

There is a story attached to this. Supposedly a young child fell in the water, and was saved by dolphins.
StatueStatue
Statue

It's blurry.
FishFish
Fish

Giant brain? I doubt it.
PufferPuffer
Puffer

It is smiling.
Big FishBig Fish
Big Fish

I felt bad for this one, it looks like it is befuddled.
Leaf ThingLeaf Thing
Leaf Thing

It's hard to see, but those greenish-yellow leafy things are actually animals.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb