08.25.08 New Places


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Chongqing » Chongqing
August 24th 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick FYI, if you didn’t know it, you can subscribe to this blog. After you subscribe, an email will be sent to you every time I post something new. This way you won’t have to check it all the time or even worse…miss something!
Ok so the last week has been completely exhausting! But also a lot of fun! Today is Sunday. School started last Thursday. My schedule is as follows first period I teach Algebra II, second period I teach physical science, third period seventh grade math, fourth period earth science, fifth period cultural studies (ancient civilizations), sixth period planning and seventh period technology. I only have one student for the first two periods and three for the others. Except for seventh grade math I have four. So I don’t have many students and the students I do have are very well behaved. The only rough thing is planning for so many higher level courses…especially since my science knowledge is not overly extensive. Fortunately the seventh grade stuff isn’t bad…its just the physical science I really have to study up on.
So onto the fun stuff! I got a chance to go out and about to explore some of the night life this week. I am so glad more people have arrived! I think this is going to be a very good year for the younger staff at the school. On Tuesday, some of us went to a Thai food restaurant. The Woodruffs suggested this because they have good curry dishes. Normally when you walk into nicer restaurants here, you are greeted by two lines of Chinese girls. This was the same, but after getting through them, there were a bunch of performers who welcomed us…and surprisingly enough they spoke English, which is uncommon in this part of China. Once we got seated, Megan informed me that some of the women performers were not actually women…although let me tell you, I never would have known. The performers were all from the Philippines. They went table to table and let the guest chose English song, to which they sang and danced. There was a drummer and guitarist in the group. They were actually quite good and they played popular and recent American songs. They would also have us get up and dance with them-I dance with one of the women who is actually a man.
The food was good. They put all the food in a center lazy suzan and then you pick off what you want with chop sticks. I am slowly getting better with the chop sticks as I have to depend on them for most meals now. I wish I had practiced more at home! It is fun going out with the Chinese staff because they order food that I don’t think the foreign teachers would even know to order. Sometimes it is not to my liking, but it is fun to at least try it. I think the Chinese staff also likes us going because we pick out things they would never choose. I like most of the Chinese flavors I have tried, but I have not found many places where I like the meat. I eat a lot of the vegetables. Chinese meat tends to be very tough and/or fatty. All the things you don’t want in meat, but I think they like it that way!
Friday, we went to a bar where the music teacher at our school sings at night. She is amazing! She sings American songs. I’m not sure why American songs are so popular, but even our bus driver plays them on the way to and from school. Not many of them understand the English words, but they must all like the rhythm. It was a salsa bar and really not very big. They had laser beams coming from the ceiling all over the place, which was interesting. I also learned how to play a game that I assume is popular in China. They give you a cup with 5 dice. You shake them up and then only you look under the cup at your dice. You then go around and make bids such as six fives. This means you think under everyone’s cup, there will be a total of six fives. The next person has to up the bid such as seven threes. This continues until someone decides to call the person before them out. For example if someone said ten fours and you didn’t think there would be ten fours, you’d say no and then everyone lifts there cups to count how many fours there are. Also ones are wild. The person wins if they guess the correct number. It was pretty fun. As the evening went on, we got up and danced. Dancing is very interesting here. Everyone likes to hold hands and dance together. We were doing the train and one point and then at another point, we were doing like a greek dance or something! Haha. It was interesting! People really are friendly and welcoming here.
Saturday I bought a printer to print lesson plans. Then Saturday night, we had a faculty dinner at the Howard Johnson. This is the first place I’ve been that actually has good western food. I stuffed myself to the brim. All of the faculty from QSI were there as well as our lawyer and his wife, Linda. I sat next to Linda, who was very nice. I think we are going to go to a grand opening for a new restaurant next Friday. After dinner, I went with Angela (the Chinese teacher) and her husband to get a massage. Massages are so cheap here! We got a ninety minute massage for 35 RMB which is like six dollars. I know! Crazy! I don’t think I will ever really want to go back though…massages are just not my thing. We were in a room with three beds and a flat panel TV. They give you like a pajama set with a shirt and shorts to change into. The massage starts with your feet. They soak your feet in scented herb water and rub them. My feet are sooooo ticklish. I kept laughing and then everyone else would laugh at me. Then they work their way up your body. They even massage your butt! Like I said…I don’t think massages are really my thing!
This morning I went out grocery shopping because the Woodruffs and I trade off cooking Sunday brunch and this was my week. I woke up at seven thinking I would get back by eight. Turns out the grocery doesn’t open until eight. Initially, I was concerned it may not open on Sundays, but then at about seven forty five three or four buses pulled up filled to capacity. It is so hot and humid here that waiting outside is exhausting and sweaty. The Chinese are crazy because while I’m trying to find air and coolness, they huddle around the door waiting for the store to open. You’d think there was some amazing sale because as soon as the door started going up, everyone starts crouching to get under and start running to the escalators to go up to the grocery. But no, there was no sale! It is literally like the day after Thanksgiving shopping here every weekend! So I get in and do my shopping. When I get to the check out, some of my produce doesn’t have a price on it. I checked all of the stuff I picked up for tags, but this was something that the produce man gave me when he was helping me so I figured they cashier would just know the price since there wasn’t one on it. Turns out I was wrong. She had to send someone back to check the price. Meanwhile two older women behind me start screaming at me and pointing to the back of the line! Goodness! The lines weren’t even that long yet because I had done my shopping quickly. I didn’t know what to do so I just stood there. Fortunately the boy came back pretty quick with the prices. People are crazy shoppers here!
Another cool thing I discovered today is how the ATMs work. I went to get some money on the way to the grocery. There are three banks in a row on the way that advertise 24 hour ATMs. However, I could get in because the electric door wouldn’t open when I stood in front of it. I went to every bank and stood in front of the door and nothing happened. Then two guys came and started to say “card” and pointing to a card slot next to the door. I keep saying I don’t have a card for this back. But they kept saying “card” and pointing. So I pulled out my visa card to which they were pleased. I swiped my card and the door opened. I think this is a nice safety feature. If someone were to come in behind you to rob you, they would be able to track the person because he would have had to use his card to get into the bank.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



26th August 2008

Jocelyn, keep writing. I love hearing about your experiences. If you don't learn any other language skills at least learn how to speak food. Sing some karaoke for Greg and I.
27th August 2008

Don't give up on massages!
I'm ticklish too but once you learn to just breathe deeply and relax, they are so great. I am so jealous you can get them for so little. 90 minutes here is about $90; basically you can figure $1/minute unless you buy a package of multiple massages.
29th August 2008

Helen from CC
Hi Jocelyn: Got you blogsite from your Mom and Dad the other night at church. Looks like you are having a great time and your apartment is great too. Those massages sound absolutely devine. Give them time. I remember my first and I was sure I would never go back. Now? I go anytime I can afford it. Which is not often at US prices. Enjoy it all....Blessings to you...

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.2mb