All Access


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Xuanwu District
July 24th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trendy Bar at Houhai LakeTrendy Bar at Houhai LakeTrendy Bar at Houhai Lake

Is Carrie Bradshaw here?
I am quickly learning that Beijing is basically New York City, but with cheaper cabs. And it’s a lot, lot bigger. This city is massive! A two block walk can take 30 minutes. Subway stops are miles away from one another. A cross-town cab ride can take up to an hour. Walking the city is fun but exhausting - glad I brought all my most comfy shoes.

The past few days have mostly been long work days, relieved by fun evenings out around Beijing. On Wednesday a group of us went out to Houhai, a large, beautiful lake surrounded by an endless sea of overpriced and trendy bars and restaurants. We had cocktails of watermelon juice with vodka, then walked around the lake until our feet hurt. The air around the area was such a relief, so fresh and clean. All I wanted to do was curl up and sleep right there by the water!

Last night Christina (my new buddy) and I ran out of the office around 6 and headed straight to Tian’anmen Square. I think this is the largest public square in the world - and it is huge, the size of a soccer field. Most
Guards at T-SquareGuards at T-SquareGuards at T-Square

I could take these guys...
of the people out were Chinese, probably tourists that came in from around the country. Very few Westerners present, surprisingly, and we therefore were stared at quite a bit. A pair of teenage girls as well as a young family asked to take a photo with us. We were “white chick” movie stars!

After the Square we ate great Thai food, then stumbled upon a gorgeous shoe and handbag boutique. Yes, I broke down and walked out just a little more in debt. But with a gorgeous new bag. (Hey, are you really all that surprised?)

Exciting news - I received my Olympic credentials today - a badge that allows me access to certain parts of the Olympic area. I am not sure if this was done in error, but, well, my pass basically allows for ALL ACCESS to the Olympic Green - including the Olympic Village (where all the athletes are housed and hang out), all the venues on the Olympic Green - yes, ALL - (although I may need a ticket if there is an event going on), and the MEDIA CENTER! Now this last bit I am particularly excited about. I am not allowed to
15 days15 days15 days

15 days and counting!
grant any interviews to the press, per my contract, but I can at least go in and soak up the excitement of the media world!

I still don’t know how much time my so-far-insane schedule will permit me to actually go to the Green, but knowing me - as you all do - if there is a will, there is ALWAYS a way! I am determined to make the most of this experience and not let work get in the way.

As for work, did I mention that I was somehow assigned to the most difficult program of them all? No exaggeration. We are very far behind on all the most essential deliverables, and my client does not seem to be getting the fact that the Games will not wait for her to make decisions! She is a sweet girl, but very frustrating to work with. And she giggles all the time. And says maybe ALL the time, about everything. Ummmm.... maybe..... ummmmm...... (giggle giggle giggle) ......

All I can do is hope that a few light bulbs click on very soon in that pretty little head of hers. Because in the meantime, the countdown continues ...

... let the Games begin!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb