请你吃饭。。。[Invitation to Dinner]


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Wudaokou
March 8th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was the official day of International Women's Day and I had a Chinese friend (Guo Dong) invite me out to dinner in the area around our university. I also asked a friend (Derek) from the Syracuse program to join us for dinner and it turned out to be a really fun evening! We went out to eat at Korean Restaurant. The area by my school is called "Wudaokou" 五道 and is generally know for two things: the large population of international students and its large Korean restaurants, shops and businesses. Needless to say the food at the restaurant was very tasty and the restaurant had a nice ambiance to it. The owner (老板) of the restaurant was very friendly and even came over to help us grilling our food. Prior to coming to China, I had never heard of Korean BBQ, but it's definitely becoming one of my favorite meals.

I am finding that I really enjoy the time that I get to spend with the Chinese students. I learn a lot of useful everyday language and I learn a lot about Chinese culture and its people. One of the things I have found particularly awesome is being able to dispel misconceptions about the United States and its people along with reflecting upon my own ideas of what it means to be an American. Throughout my conversations with Guo Dong, I learned that a lot of what he knows about the U.S. and about Americans is through the media (mainly TV shows). As a result of the influence of media, we a had a lot to talk about in terms of dispelling notions of American culture portrayed in the media. I was very aware that Americans probably have many misconceptions about Chinese culture and society. During our conversation, we talked about college student life in the U.S.--what typical students do for fun when they hang out/typical weekend plans. Definitely good food and good company. It was a great way to celebrate International Women's Day!





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

火车火车
火车

车,车,车,车,车。。。。。 For some reason I have really difficult time pronouncing the word "che." In Chinese, che means vehicle so every thing from a taxi, to a bicycle to the train ends with the word "che." I think I have finally begun to correctly say "che" instead of "chi" which means to eat. :)


25th March 2009

nice meal
hi, where is it? I'll try it. I am student in PKU. ;)

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb