University Lecture


Advertisement
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just finished a two hour lecture at the Minzu University with 45 minutes after that for questions. There were about 200 students in attendance. It was also translated into Chinese so I actually only worked for half that time. I came up with an entire new lecture which we can use as the basis for the HAR curriculum. I am dead tired and just got back to the hotel. I haven't eaten since lunch and didn't have any breakfast this morning.

I meet with Luding Khenpo for lunch at approximately 11:00 tomorrow morning and after that we leave for Wutaishan, a six hour drive. We will be back in Beijing on Wednesday night. I have some running around
to do on Thursday and looking at more art. Friday morning I leave early, about 6:00, for the airport and back to New York via Hong Kong.

I am a little tired and ready for a long airplane ride to relax and watch mindless movies after this whirlwind trip to Beijing. It feels like I have been here for 5 weeks, not two.

I spent the morning working out the details for the evenings lecture and then spent the afternoon looking at an almost endless stream of high quality Tibetan art. It made me dizzy to see all the pieces. A small number I was familiar with and others I knew from similar pieces in known sets. One piece is already on the HAR website, but the rest were new to me and very exciting to see. There was even a sculpture by a famous artist, only known from Tibetan texts, and as a physical existing object completely unknown to the academic art world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb