jiao shi kuai le- Happy Teachers Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district » Central Business district
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It will be three weeks tomorrow since I arrived in Beijing. Just to give a quick update: this is a fabulous city! I'm living in the Chaoyang district, in East Beijing, which is a wonderful location. My apartment is a 30min walk/ 15min subway ride from where I work. A picture of Jianwai SOHO, the office complex where I work, is pictured here. I'm somewhat familiar with the subway system and layout of the city, but I seem to spend most of my time in Chaoyang. A few times a week I teach at my students' homes in an apartment building in the Sanlitun Embassy area. It's a beautiful part of town and fun to explore. Lots of good international restaurants around that area as well.

I began teaching on just my fourth day in Beijing. Oddly enough, the majority of my students are Japanese. My employer, Noble, http://www.nobletrain.com/english/index.htm, tends to cater to Japanese nationals living in Beijing. Three to four of my classes are with adults, but most are with children....little children, usually around the age of 8. Fortunately, my company provides us with plenty of flash cards, DVDs and other teaching materials to keep the kids active and
First day in BeijingFirst day in BeijingFirst day in Beijing

This was the day of the Closing Ceremonies, and though it doesn't look like it here, the streets and sidewalks were packed with people. We were walking shoulder to shoulder everywhere around Tiananmen.
get them to participate. Also, my fellow teachers and I completed our fourth Chinese language class today. We get two free three-hour classes each week and they have been very helpful. I can actually decipher a few words here and there when I hear people speak. As for the written characters, though, it's still all gibberish.

Last week I joined a Yoga studio near where I live. It's been a good way to meet new people and practice listening to Chinese. Of course, I'm not sure how useful it will be to say things like "Breathe in and out slowly", "Concentrate on your breath", and "Move into the downward facing dog position as you exhale."

As many of you may know, I'll eat pretty much anything...or at least try it once. Knock on wood, I have not gotten sick, although two of my roommates have had a few problems. In general, food is prepared and sold the same day. Most homes do not have microwaves and very few have ovens, so food is always eaten fresh. There's a great little restaurant near our apartment that serves food from Far Western China, essentially Middle Eastern food, and it's delicious. I've also learned that if I want something spicy, just order a Sichuan dish.

I'm living with four other guys as of right now. Three are American and one is Japanese. We're all English teachers and most importantly, we all get along. While our roommate situation may change in the next couple of months, right now, being the only girl, I have my own bedroom, which is great. Our apartment is pretty good-sized and has lots of windows. Each bedroom has its own air-conditioner/heater, and like I said, it's in a great location.

I hope everyone is doing well and I'll write more soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



12th September 2008

That sounds great, Beth. Send pictures when you get a chance. --Brandon
17th September 2008

Interesting update B and it sounds great. Keep posting here and I will be sure to read this to the kids.
24th September 2008

SUPER!!
Beth, your blog sounds like the place is really cool. What dialect of Chinese are you learning? Have a marvelous time and will be looking forward to more blogs. - Jill Orr

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb