A Night at the Opera


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Changping » Changping
April 14th 2010
Published: April 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

April 14, 2010

Last night was absolutely amazing! I didn’t back to the hotel until late last night and I had reports to write, so I’m just getting to this entry now. The theatre is very close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City in Central Beijing. Everyone working there was dressed in very old style clothing. The inside of the theatre was decorated with beautiful silks and elaborately carved wood and red lanterns were hung everywhere. There were many displays of figurines dressed in examples of costumes. I’ve included some of pictures of these so you all can get a feel for how opulent and outrageous some of the garments were. We weren’t supposed to take any pictures during the performance, but I took a couple quick shots with my flash off. In addition to the opera performance, they also had some acrobats. One girl would spin vases, tables, and even two girls seated on a beam with her feet! I got a picture of the girls on the beam. The girl doing the footwork must have super strong legs! They many other acts which would be difficult to describe, but I can safely say this was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Unfortunately, this entry is going to be brief. I have more reports and presentations to prepare tonight. Good night all!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

A MusicianA Musician
A Musician

He accompanied a singer in one of the opening acts.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb