Hangzhou's Dragon Well


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Huangshan
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hangzhou's Dragon Well

Hangzhou's Dragon Well was not on my itinerary, but I had to visit it. It is located in Dragon Well Village, so is not far from the 18 imperial tea trees and the China National Tea Museum. Essential the Dragon Well is a well. It is a natural spring well and according to legend it was home to benevolent dragon that brought plenty of rain to the local people. They were so grateful that they named the well after him. Dragon Well Tea received its name from this well. It was a wonderful place. It was free to visit and beautiful! When I got out of the car I needed to walk along a path to get to the area. The path was inlaid with stones and meandered through a natural area with a stream filled with koi fish. It was very beautiful. At the end of the path was a series of traditional Chinese buildings. Most of them were teahouses offering Dragon Well Tea (of course). There was also a small museum dedicated to the place. The rest of the area was very natural. It was located on a mountainside and had little pavilions scattered around the mountainside. The pavilions were Chinese in design and were beautiful. They were hidden amongst the trees and bamboo groves. They were free to use for anyone who brought their own tea, or just wanted a place to rest or visit with friends. The area was gorgeous. I wish I had more time to have just chilled there. The well itself is quite beautiful. A rockery was built around it and its ancient well head is carved with clouds. The water is very clear and you can see to the bottom of the very deep well. If you have time you should really check this place out. I really enjoyed strolling on the paths and watching the people sitting quietly enjoying their tea.

Ticket Price:
Free
Time Needed:
.5-1 hour
Hours of Operation:
10:00-5:00
Location:
Longjing Village, Hangzhou

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hangzhous Dragon Well TeaHangzhous Dragon Well Tea
Hangzhous Dragon Well Tea

This is the famous well that gave Dragon Well Tea its name


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb