Hangzhou's Felai Peak


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Huangshan
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hangzhou's Felai Peak

Feilai Peak was the first site I visited in Hangzhou. It is located in Hangzhou next to the famous Linyin Temple which is the richest Buddhist Temple in China. An Indian Buddhist Monk came to the area and saw this hill. It did not match any other hills in the area and resembled the hills found in India so he thought it had flown from India to China. He named it Feilai Peak which means Flying from Afar. The hill is filled with over 300 ancient Buddhist Carvings. Once I got my ticket I had to walk a little while to get to the peak, about fifteen minutes. The area is very beautiful and filled with trees, Buddhist Statues, and flowers. It is beautifully manicured and maintained. The Peak itself is not very large and is filled with caves. The carvings inside the peak are ancient, but the carvings on the back are quite new. Visitors wanting to go to the Linyin Temple needs to go through the Feilai Peak area first. It is a small area and doesn't take too long to get through.

Ticket Price:
35rmb
Time Needed:
20-45 minutes
Hours of Operation:
5:00-6:00
Location:
Located next to Lingyin Temple in Hangzhou

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb