A last look at Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 14th 2016
Published: July 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

After a rather harrowing day yesterday spending about 6 hours at Choeung Ek and S21 and then another 3 or 4 hours writing about it I needed some light relief and some dinner and found both at a corner bar/eatery a couple of blocks from the hotel. Met a young English couple doing the opposite circuit from me through SE Asia. Their enthusiasm for Vietnam was infectious and has me really looking forward to the next few weeks. They have restored my faith in humanity, we'll them and a 12 year old Khmer kid who hustled me into buying a woven bracelet for a buck after opening a can of whoop ass on me at the pool table. John if you're reading this, start your own damned Blog!! And don't forget to send me a link.

Woke up this morning with a slightly thick head, possibly one or two too many beers last night but eggs benedict at 'The Shop', a great little cafe that would hold its own in any of the major European cities, followed by a good long walk to the Independence monument and then on to Wat Phnom put me right.

Heading for Kratie at 6.00am tomorrow. Another 6 or 7 hour bus trip to look forward to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb