Budding Cambodia - Lovely People, Rich In History


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
September 17th 2015
Published: September 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

View by the BayView by the BayView by the Bay

So much like Manila Bay
If you have not read my previous blog "Dear Thailand, When I said I'll Be Back, I Meant It. and I'm Bringing More.", here is a short intro.

My first trip in March 2015 inspired me to list things I would do this year as well as help me find my passion: Traveling and Inspiring others.

Here's the list of things I would do in 2015:

• Travel more.
• Start a legacy. Be more than "Luisa".
• Laugh more. Read more.
• Invest for future.
• Learn how to swim

Travel more was the first topic I dwelled on. I talked about my second trip in Thailand, in May 2015. The trip didn't fail me, I managed to see and experience more wonders of the beautiful kingdom.

This time, it's about the second on my list, starting a legacy and be more than just "Luisa". Legacy is not just a piece of property passed down through generations. Over time, it has evolved to numerous meaning, it tailor fits the person who uses / perceives it. For me, it's something not tangible. I am pertaining to values and wisdom.

Starting one's legacy needs to be a well thought desire and normally sprout from a significant turning point in our lives. Lucky are those who knew it early and planned for it. Others realize it through a sequence of events / through experiences. Some just gave up. But no such thing as too late, we are the only true limit to what we can become. Things like age and lack of support are just some of the excuses we build to make us feel comfortable with our current status. I've learned from one of Anthony Robbins' seminar how powerful our mind can be. I'll always remember what he said about changing one's state, "we can change our state in a heartbeat". We just have to be in control. It's like being in command of a battalion. Whoah!

Mine is education; and power of possitivity and compassion.

I am an average Biology student in Saint Louis University in the Philippines, I am lucky to be able to complete my degree with the help of my Aunt Leonie and Uncle David. Inspired by their dedication in helping me, I completed my degree in 3.5 years (there's no secrete here, I took some of my subjects in advance every summer). If hadn't been of their help, I couldn't have achieved it.

So you see, it is true when they say good deeds multiply, it may not be abrupt but it does multiply. I will never forget about how I got my education nor the people who made it possible. It became an inspiration.

Now, that I have the chance to give back. It will be one of my legacy.

I am inspired to build a school, an organization that promotes education. It may take me few more years from now but I know it can be done.

An opportunity came when a friend shared with me about child sponsorship program of World Vision International. The program aims to help needy childrens and their communities to have a better access to education and future livelihood. Sounds good to me, so I read about the program and next thing I know I am pouring the coins from my jar and counting them til the last cent. I started saving coins in 2013 after I attended Millionaire's Mind Intensive seminar of T. Harv Eker. Well, it was T. Harv Eker's program but the speaker is one of his affiliate, Rob Riopel. I was not so consistent in following the jar system but I managed to save enough for a year's contribution in the child sponsorship program of World Vision. I signed up and sponsor a child, a sponsor have the choice to select the location of the child (from which province). I selected the option for "Most Needed" in the Philippines. I banked in the money the next morning to complete the transaction. Subsequently, I received the sponsorship kit which includes the child's particulars and complete guidelines of being a sponsor. I won't mention his name but he is 7 years old and by looking at his photo, I am certain there's a bright future ahead for him. This was in April, 2015. This is just the first step.

It is true that whatever you focused on, magnifies. You attract the energy. In May 2015, I already planned my Cambodia trip with a friend during the fare promotion of Jetstar Airways, if I remember it accurately the promotion was bring a friend for free. So basically, you just have to pay 1 return ticket for 2 person. It was so affordable. The plan is to
The Stupa at Choeung Ek Genocidal CenterThe Stupa at Choeung Ek Genocidal CenterThe Stupa at Choeung Ek Genocidal Center

Here is where the skulls and bones were stored.
explore scenic places. Towards the end of June, I saw a flyer carefully slipped through our front door. It was a flyer distributed by An organization in Singapore aiming to help childrens of Cambodia. They are collecting used/pre-loved items for their program. An idea struck me, I counted how many friends and colleagues I have in Singapore. The number is good enough to start the project. I contacted my travel buddy about this idea and we executed the very next day. We asked friends and colleagues to donate toys and used books for the children of Cambodia. Some gave school supplies. The respond was not fast but suddenly overwhelming when it's closer to the date of our departure. We managed to collect more than what we can carry on our trip. I contacted World Vision Cambodia through the help of World Vision Philippines. Everything was made possible through the help of her team. My heart is filled with joy. I can imagine the smiles on the children's face while receiving the item. Priceless.

We managed to squeeze the items in 2 luggages which weighed about 52 Kg. The rest of our things were hand carried.

The duration of flight from Singapore to Phnom Penh is almost 2 hours. Singapore is an hour ahead of Cambodia. At the airport, you have a choice of taking tuk tuk or a cab. It was a hot morning so we opted for a cab.

The plan was to put our bags in the hotel, bring the donations to World Vision Cambodia, and stroll with what time we have left on the first day. I was so excited.

As planned, we checked in at the hotel and freshen up before heading to World Vision Office. Upon reaching the place, someone is standing at the gate waiting for our arrival. Everyone is so nice and accommodating. We felt the warm welcome and heartfelt sincerity. We wished we could have brought more but there will always be next time. That was a good way to start our tour in their beloved country, Cambodia.

The tuk tuk driver outside our hotel suggested a restaurant not far. He dropped us off infront of a restaurant serving Khmer soup. What amazed us most was the place itself, it has traces of memories of who've been there - drawings and messages of happy couples, families and friends posted on the walls. It was a great concept, it makes their customers feel comfortable and relaxed. We had our share of fun, we drew a nipa hut, a coconut tree next to it, clouds, flowers and grasses at the lawn and 2 ladies in dress under the sun. The food was not bad. Khmer soup is like tom yum without the sourish taste. It was worth a try. After dinner, we realized that there are more restaurants in the area than we thought. Across the road was a park along the bay, it's like the view in Manila Bay. We walked for a while, snapped some shots and head back to the hotel.

I mentioned Budding Cambodia in my title as this denotes the history of the place. I am guilty of not reading the history of a place before traveling, it's more on bring it on and surprise me attitude.

So during our tour on the second day, I was so shocked of what I learned. A little over four decades ago, there was a massive execution of Khmer population brought about by their Khmer Rouge leader. Once accused, the entire family goes into cell - no exception. Piles of skulls and bones were dug. Some of the mass graves are left undisturbed to date. Schools were converted into cells and torture rooms. No one was allowed to study. Education was abolished. Part of the book that I am working on includes details of our tour in Cambodia.

During this trip, we also head to some historical temples.

Reflecting on a question I got while collecting donations for this trip, I was asked why Cambodia and not Philippines. The only answer I had then was the flyer that inspired me, though it is true that there are needy children in the Philippines, our air ticket to Cambodia has already booked prior so this was just to make the trip more productive and meaningful. But having seen the history of the place, I found a much deeper reason - to help bring about education that has been abolished years ago. Though there are schools everywhere now, but still there are places where schools are not accessible.

Weeks after our trip, I received an email from World Vision Cambodia, attached were photos of children with the items we brought. I was in tears while browsing through the photos. I feel the need to do more and be more for them. I feel fulfilled but there's more to be done.

I wanted to build a shelter / a concrete room for them to study.

Few more weeks passed and I received another email, this time what's attached were scanned copies of the children's thank you letter.

And then another idea struck me, bigger than before.

I'll tell you about it on my next blog. Thank you for reading.

PS, feel free to comment should you think you have to share something about this post.




Sorry that I am unable to post photos of my visit to World Vision as well as photos of the children to protect their privacy.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb