I'm back.....and it feels like home


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

They say you can’t go back.........but, who are “they” and what would they know anyway?

I’m back.....and it feels like home!! I don’t feel out of place...the noise and traffic don’t bother me like they do at home....How is that ?? The moment I left the airport (on a tuktuk - I wanted to be part of the madness & not protected from it by the confines of a taxi) I was once again immersed in the hustle and bustle that is Cambodia. It was awesome. Apart from Australia, there are two countries that I’ve been to that I feel really grounded in, and they are Turkey and Cambodia. I cannot explain it fully, apart from saying that I feel like I belong in these countries, that every cell of my body resonates with the surroundings and people and I never feel like a “foreigner”...I don’t believe in reincarnation, so if you’re thinking that’s the answer, “buzz” - “wrong”...

As we got closer to town, the worse the traffic became and it turns out that there is a certain element of political unrest (not surprising given the results of the election in July) and a number of streets around the government areas, and one uni were in shutdown thanks to a student protest. It created havoc, and made for a very slow journey which didn’t bother me one bit though, as it meant that I could enjoy the sights, and smells wafting up from the food being cooked street-side. Man oh man, I love this city !!

My hotel is clean, comfy, has air-con, great staff and is about a 10-15 minute walk to Riverside, so I’m happy. Will have to drag out my earplugs though, as I won’t survive the karaoke bar across the road (kept me awake late into the night last night – which reminded me of the apartment I lived in last time, ie next to the Hostess Bar). The staircase is going to give me killer gluts, so that’s a bonus....yea

I went for a walk last night after I checked in – I was in search of a SIM card, but in reality I just needed to walk down “memory lane”... and so many memories came flooding back of the many great times I spent with the other volunteers and friends. I had tears in my eyes as I walked past the restaurant where we celebrated Luc’s farewell – fittingly, it’s being renovated/rebuilt which made me happy & sad at the same time. It’s right across the road from the Foreign Correspondents Club where I took Luc for a final beer – turns out he’d never been there and I love the vibe of the place, so had to share it with him. As only the other vols would understand, I had a big smile on my face as I walked past Blue Pumpkin – that was our “white haven” away from the heat and dirt of the streets – they have great fruit shakes and the best ice-cream in Cambodia (beats Italian gelato in my books). Really looking forward to dinner with Sophan at BP on Tuesday – yea – oh and I will have at least one 4-spice ice-cream when I’m here – yummo...okay, maybe two. It was great fun walking around, and I always love the challenge of crossing the roads – being a seasoned Asian traveller I’m not intimidated by the traffic coming at me from all directions, but I do appreciate it when I get safely to the other side :o) There are so many more cars here these days, and interesting the status symbol Lexus’ are now being replaced by Range Rovers.......the poor get poorer and the rich, well, you know how that goes.

And here we are – Monday morning, the traffic has been beeping and buzzing around outside for hours, and I’m loving the familiar sounds – the squeaking of the kids toy by the people collecting recyclable items...I do miss the sound of the guy selling bread that we used to have near the apartments. Time to get up and get back out into life in Cambodia – and best of all, I’m heading to school this afternoon to see my kids – I can’t even begin to explain the happiness I feel about seeing them.....I’ve missed them so much and finally, I’m back and the nun won’t be there, so we can hug each other without her hovering disapprovingly and telling the kids that it’s not appropriate..... So, I’m off, bring on the hugs !!!

Many hours later: What a Great day.........no, Awesome day. Gosh I love this place (I think I’m repeating myself – you all know that already, don’t you?). Finally found a SIM card – ironically, once I got it, I saw them for sale everywhere..... and then started getting in touch with everyone, including Chann, my driver when I was volunteering, and he was free to drive me around all day. It was fantastic to buzz around the city on the back of the bike, knowing that I could trust him to keep me safe and not rip me off. I was having trouble with my wifi on the laptop so he dropped me to the shop that loaded it 2 years ago......I walked in and the girl greeted me like a long lost friend – she remembered me – how awesome (again, there’s that ‘not feeling like a stranger thingy’). They sorted the issue and sent me off, refusing any payment (I made sure Chann had their card so he can take others there if need be)... So now I have phone and internet – interesting how isolated one feels when these things are removed.

I still had time before heading to school, so dropped in to Central Market, bought some silk scarves and have a lady making me some tops – 2 tops and 4 scarves = $30 = bargain.

Then, off to school......and rock-star treatment as I walked in....kids and teachers running at me, squealing with delight and LOTS of hugs. Happy Happy.... They are still as gorgeous as ever and friendly, fun, loving and I’m so very, very happy – if I was a dog, my tail would be wagging uncontrollably. One of the gifts I gave the boys was an Aussie Rules footy and once inflated, they played and tackled each other for ages – winner !! It was wonderful to spend time with them and the best part is, I’m heading back tomorrow to see the morning class, and they’ve asked me to teach while I’m here (it hadn’t been confirmed), so will spend as much as I can there. I work in a challenging environment on a daily basis, and what a humbling and sensational feeling to come here and be treated with respect and unconditional love.....my heart feels revived !!

So, after not a lot of sleep last night (the inventor of karaoke has a lot to answer for).....and after walking many, many kms in the heat this morning (my sissy feet have one heck of a blister on the ball of my foot – ouch), and the excitement of being with friends, this little black duck is going to get some food, and get some rest........ Hugs to all from my beloved Cambodia...

Rob

Advertisement



2nd September 2013

Sounds great...
I'm so pleased you're having such a wonderful time right from the word go. The delay at Brisbane airport must have been to prepare you for this wonderful time ahead. Keep enjoying and having fun, stay safe. Any chance you and Luc could meet up again?! He sounds like he's got your heart. Looking forward to more entries and photos of painted toenails ;)
3rd September 2013

Luc
Hi Sylvi, I did two blogs and had a bit of trouble in the sending of the first one titled "Bitter Sweet"......in it I explain about Luc, and how he committed suicide last year...we became friends and he was just one heck of a nice guy... I only found out what happened about 6 weeks ago... Having a great time though...
4th September 2013

Yaaaaay for you
This is all great reading, Robyn. So happy for you! Just wits you could find some way to make this sort of thing your usual job! Much love. XX
4th September 2013

totally agree
Hi Joan, I totally agree....I love this place and feel right at home....love being with the kids, they're gorgeous. Hope you're well.....I imagine Sunday was tough - first fathers' day without Alan....xx

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb