Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 20th 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The road to Phnom Penh was so much smoother although still plenty of really curious obsticles to avoid - crazily overloaded carts, water buffalo - motor bikes don't really count - they move. We almost avoided all of them - just hit one guy and he limped off after we'd stopped a while. Arriving at the town market felt like mayhem - I initailly found it hard to orientate to this city. The guesthouse I stayed at initially was pretty grubby. Next morning met a french woman who showed me a really ritzy place for only $1 more (i.e. $5) - even had a tv - struggled with that! The killing fields visit that morning was pretty sobering - absolute horrific inhumanty. Its still very raw in Cambodia and hard to imagine such things can happen these days (was while I was @ uni) mmm.. have we learned?

I needed to do something completely different in the afternoon. Had been feeling pretty inactive so found the city swimming pool. Lots of people sitting outside not much swimming going on. I felt like exhibit A doing my km - seemed like everyone was watching to see what the palangi did. That evening had dinner @ a very cruisy resteraunt with the french woman who turns out has a daughter working in Hamilton. Such a fast travel through Cambodia - really didn't have a chance to engage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Hi John, by road from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh? Boat? Enjoy PP - the FCCC balcony at sunset and gorgeous guano-coated treasures in museum. Looking forward to hearing about the road over to Vietnam. gin
22nd July 2006

I am envious!!!!!
Hi John Nice to hear from you, although of course it just makes me envious that I am sitting here in the cold with the same old boring and exasperating problems at work! Lots of things are happening there and I have only made it to the gym once after Ilana showed me all those things to develop a six pack, lol. At the rate I am going it will never go beyond a one and a half pack! Anyway, I think I prefer swimming (in the warmth) to sharing a gym with all that testosterone (spelling?) around me! Keep having fun and writing interesting stuff! Ati
25th August 2006

From another swim-aholic
So John if you think u were a bit obvious doing your laps in the town pool picture me at the beach in Dubais - amongst one million people (give or take a few) u'd think i'd blend in unobtrusively but then again i was the only blue-eyed, blonde haired, fair-skinned person, the only female in the water and of the masses who immersed themselves in the sea, the only one mad enough to actually swim!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb