Just a quickie !!!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
October 20th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm stuck at Greetings cafe because I didn't bring an umbrella etc, and it's decided to bucket down all of a sudden....so I'm going nowhere for a little while, though I do have to be home by 5.30pm to go for another fish pedicure and then dinner with a group of Aussie volunteers so I hope it stops soon.

Suzanne (Danish volunteer) and I came up here last night for a catch up, and as we were walking home along the street, a huge rat dashed past and Suzanne screamed so loud and so long, that the security guard from Greetings came running, as it sounded like we'd either been mugged or hit by a car!!! The Drink Mart was crowded as usual, and the crowd went desperately quiet as they tried to work out what had happened. Suzanne basically filled them in by screaming "rat, rat, rat", to which the crowd lost interest, well that is, apart from laughing at the silly foreigner (that happens to be about 5'8"). I can only liken their response to the response you'd get if you screamed "free Fosters" in front of a bunch of Queenslanders !!...ie absolutely no interest. Oh, and being the kind, sympathetic person that I am, I simply laughed so much that I had tears running down my face, and have shared the story with all & sundry!!

I have the pleasure of attending a staff (school and SCC staff) meeting tomorrow from 8am - 11am .....seriously, I'm on holidays and thought I left these things behind. Oh well, they're giving me the afternoon off, and providing lunch, so I can't complain.

It'll be good to have the afternoon off as Jo Turner will be in town and we're catching up - looking forward to that. I also plan to spend the weekend in Kampot with her in two or three weeks - we have a few long weekends coming up.

I know a lot of people would love it if I put more photos in my blog, and I will try to where appropriate, but I thought I'd mention that I will avoid putting photos of the kids here, as it's a public forum and I want to protect them. Anyone on facebook with me, will see their photos there, as I believe I have a fair amount of security there. Hope you all understand.

Ok, rain has stopped and I will head home soon. Take care and lots of hugs from Cambodia.



Advertisement



21st October 2011

Thank you so much for spending your invaluable time helping the needy Cambodians in my homeland!
MY name is Theary and I came to the US in early 1981 after my stowaway from Sihanoukville Port in mid 1980 and ended up in Phillipines. I met my wife and got married here in Minnesota who is also came from Cambodia and we both grew up in Phnom Penh and even went to the same high school but we did not know each other. What a small world. We are planning to take our early retirement next year in Cambodia and spend some times for volunteering. Your blog has been very inspiring us and we can not wait! Out of my 12 family members, only two of us has survived. I still only have a sister who lives in Pursat Province. Theary Minnesota, USA
21st October 2011

Thanks for your feedback
Hi Kem It is truly my pleasure being here, and I already know I will find it hard to leave this wonderful place, and gorgeous kids. Robyn
21st October 2011

Hey fish pedi lover
If you're having all these fish pedis and loving them, then I must try one too. I've been hesitating because I'm sure I'll laugh my guts out within the first nibble. Plus, do they really get all the dead skin off as well as a usual pedicure? I've brought along a pedi paddle and give my feet a going over occasionally, but it would be lovely to have a professional job done for once whilst over here. You've got a gut bug and I've now got one in my eye. My left eye has been feeling irritated for awhile now but I put it down to the constant winds over here. But 2 days ago it started to go red and today I saw an optometrist who said there was an infection and prescribed some eye drops. They also said I should throw my contact lenses away as they could be harbouring the infection and make it return if worn again. All well and good but these are not disposable lenses and I only got them this year and normally get around 2 years wear out of a pair. So pissed off but will do the right thing as I don't want to risk anything. I may try disposable lenses whilst here though I've tried them several times in Brissy and they don't seem to agree with my eyes. Things never seem clear and I have to constantly blink as if I've got a bubble behind them. Either way it's no big deal as I also have my glasses and prescription sunnies here too. Fantastic about the Californian lady is ready your blog and may come over. You are not only assisting the kids there but also influencing others to follow in your footsteps. Very proud. It's definite. We're returning to Bris on 30 Nov so should be back by 2 Dec instead of 20 Dec. We changed the flight details tonight and it didn't cost us an arm and a leg really. Maybe just a finger :) Must away as our cheese quiche is nearly ready for dinner. Keep having fun, keep the tummy bugs away and any chance Tim is the one?! :) Sylvi xo

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb