Pictures tell a thousand words..


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
September 25th 2011
Published: September 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Not many words today, just some photos to back up my recent ramblings....hope you're all enjoying your Sunday. Today is my first day off in ages, so I just went for a long walk, didn't get lost (woohoo), and checked out my neighbourhood. There is a food market in the next street, and all I can say is that if our cook gets her meat there, I'm turning vegetarian - I've seen plenty of Asian food markets, but this one was probably the most unhygienic I've seen to date....ugghhh


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hard at workHard at work
Hard at work

Moto driver. Very common to see people asleep in chairs etc, roadside.
"Electronic Street""Electronic Street"
"Electronic Street"

Everything is plastic wrapped - there is SO much dust/dirt in PP, it has to be. They have the gear right next to the roads.
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

The one on the left is ours...the one on thie right is the shipping office/brothel. To the right of that is the karaoke bar/brothel
Check out the socks of the ladyCheck out the socks of the lady
Check out the socks of the lady

She was also in her PJs I think
We were turning leftWe were turning left
We were turning left

I was on the back of the bike, thankfully Chann stopped and waited for the car to pass - he doesn't always
Our roomOur room
Our room

Awesome, eh?!! Not. There is so much blu tack on the walls from previous inhabitants, and grime also. Saw a mouse last night!!
A Gold Turtle bugA Gold Turtle bug
A Gold Turtle bug

a bit bigger than a ladybug
Near my schoolNear my school
Near my school

Slums near Tonle Sap lake


25th September 2011

Cute kids
Love the cute kids and yes they are so small. All look happy in the photos though so they obviously love to smile. You'll have to teach them signs other then "peace" when they get photographed. How about "O" for OK and of course thumbs up is always good. The slums are a bit hard to take. We live such a rich life don't we?! Gross re the unhygienic markets. I know you'll be careful with what you eat but take extra care anyway. Must fly as we're heading to Glasgow in a minute. Stay safe and happy. Sylvi xo

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb