Gastroenteritis


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
September 9th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, there it is chaps. I have gastroenteritis. So,.......this is fun. I am on a cocktail of drugs which attempt to kill the nasty icky stuff going on inside of me and I can not wait to be better. Some might think this an elaborate ruse to get out of teaching but I assure you, it is no fun. I have suffered for three days and today is enough. James kindly offered to supply me with an assortment of drugs he bought over from New Zealand but was hassled by others to see a doctor. So I agreed. Funnily enough, what Dr James was going to offer me was pretty much the same the doctor made me shell out $28 for (20 pounds). Not that bad really. Anything to make it go away.
The cramps, headaches, constant toileting are a hassle and only serve to make me hate the world and my rotten luck more. Today is written off and I do hope I feel better by tomorrow. Everyone is going off to do cool touristy stuff and I really don't want to miss out. But there is no way I can step further than 10 feet from a hole in the floor right now.

However, things are looking up. I feel a bit better. Still hot, but the cramps are less often. I am hating my diet of boiled rice - they call it porridge over here. I am bored. It is literally boiled rice in a bowl with a spoon for me to eat with.
I crave shortbread biscuits, iced coffee, English fatty white fresh bread with bon maman jam or wilkinsons marmalade with thickly spread lurpack mmmmmm. I want tea. God i want an earl grey. But I'm not sure about the milk here yet. I want cadburys fruit and nut. I want a mars bar that tastes like a mars bar. I bought one the other day, took one bite and gave it to one of the guys. It was a fake. And not a good one. I want a Big Mac. I know I am a veggie, but right now, the taste of death is needed in my stomach.
Weirdly, I want to feel cold. It's so hot here. Day, night, always. Just a little bit of cold....Please? I hate fans, they push hot air around all night and do me no good. I have a hoody and long to wear it.
Never thought I would wish for cold, but I just have.

I am going to attempt some more boring porridge. Wish me luck

Advertisement



9th September 2011

Hi Jessica have been following your blog and I do feel for you, I have once suffered the same and know how difficult it is to explain to others how it feels. Nice to hear that you are now starting to feel better. The rice treatment is terrible but it works! Good luck and I am sure things are looking brighter now even if you won\'t have the cold weather and that Mars bar! Perhaps you will receive a UK parcel? xx
9th September 2011

Hi Jessica have been following your blog and I do feel for you, I have once suffered the same and know how difficult it is to explain to others how it feels. Nice to hear that you are now starting to feel better. The rice treatment is terrible but it works! Good luck and I am sure things are looking brighter now even if you won\'t have the cold weather and that Mars bar! Perhaps you will receive a UK parcel? xx

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 117; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb