Darkness


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 14th 2011
Published: July 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tonight, I left my usual dinner haunt early, lured home by thoughs of a comfy couch and a quiet evening of reading and updating my blog. Slight problem. There is now power. None at all. In a three story house, with not so many windows, it gets pretty dark with no power. And it gets hot. And the internet goes away.

A quick phone call to a friend confirms that actually, its not necessarily uncommon for a power outage to go for a day. Even two days. I did notice that the power was out when I left this morning, but it hadn't really occured to me that it might still be gone 12 hours later. Thankfully I have my trusty $1.50 keyring torch, which I have now modified MacGuyver style with a bandaid so that I don't have to hold the button in all the time to get light. I have it on a lanyard hanging around my neck along with my house keys. Mostly because locking the front door involves applying a number of padlocks, and the claustrophobic part of me isn't entirely comfortable with that at the best of times, let alone in the pitch black (there is no way to get out in a hurry without keys. It would not make for a good fire drill).

I have however found one small portion of light. The balcony outside the loungeroom has is sprinkled with rays from a nearby street light, and so I sit outside, writing this blog post, much to the apparent amusement of the neighbours. I can actually see torch lights flickering through windows of the houses on the street from here. It looks a bit like a team of crack burglers are robbing the entire neighbourhood at once. Lucky I have all those padlocks. They either won't be able to get in, or they won't be able to get out!

Sadly though, I can't longer bask in stray beams for the streetlight and take in the soothing sounds of dogs barking, cats fighting and horns blaring for too long. The threat of Dengue fever and other mosquito borne diseases is driving me back inside my powerless abode. Plus the kitties seem very keen for me to come in and feed and play with them.

Hooray! The power just came back on! I could hear the whole street cheer which prompted me to check the lights. Yay! It's 9pm now but at least its back!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb