Nine million bicycles in Beijing? likely. Ten million motorbikes in Cambodia then


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
April 24th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

LOST: My personal space (somewhere on a bus in Cambodia)
and my Grey hoddie (somewhere on a bus in Bangkok)

Another country another public Holiday, but this one was a good one. I arrived in a very welcoming warm Bangkok expecting to leave the same day for Cambodia, yer. It was Grand Songrikan festival, normally a big event on its own but this year combined with the kings birthday. My word what a party, it entailed lots of water throwing and lots of clay smeared all over you. The bus couldn't drop as anywhere near Kao San Road so we got booted off in the middle of the festivities bags and all! So It was to any guesthouse to drop off bags and arm up with water pistols. Wet doesn't even come close to how we were. So after a couple of days of being as wrinkly as a prune Cambodia next stop.

Siem Reap was the first stop to Angkor Wat. amazing
views including the were parts of the Tomb Raider movie was filmed, and some fantastic temples but with stifling heat one day was all I needed, how people do a week I don't know they
Attention classAttention classAttention class

My English lesson students
all started to look the same. Thats so bad isn't it!
Off to the capital and Phnom Penh next. Stayed in this cute little stilted house over the lake with the nicest sunset. Very Ibiza with the tunes and beers but only $2, bargin! I did some history but not the best timing, was slightly hungover from staying up for the Arsenal game, it was like 2 in the morning here! but doing the prison were the Pol Pot regime held and tortured the prisoners before taking them to the killing fields left me speechless and in tears, it was heartbreaking. Light relief was needed and a beach - Shinockville it was.
Should have been a great little place to chill before Vietnam but you don't get a minutes peace from hawkers and the kids. In the end you just bought stuff to shut them up. Had a little blast from the past Utopia on a Saturday night had to be done! Was slightly better than the one at home, may have been the free ice shots or may have been cos it was on the beach. As it wasn't quite the oasis of calm i was looking for I decided to head to Vietnam a bit earlier than planed, unfortunately I forgot to check when my visa stared and head there a day early! Clever thing aren't I? So I got turned away at the Vietnam border but luckily they let me back into Cambodia for the night. I was in the smallest little town with no roads or anything. I ended up staying in one of the immigration officials spare room. What a night! I also became like a little celebrity as everyone came to say hello, that and an English teacher as a group of the girls wanted some lessons. Ended up having a really great time and was so well looked after, but I was so ready to leave. It summed up the Cambodians they were all such great friendly people. Great country, loved it but must have the worst TV I've ever seen (and I love bad TV) it was either karaoke TV or 'tashed men badly acting fights in the strangest places. As for my personal space? they don't seem to know what it is. Kids come and sit on you and old ladies lean on you resting their feet on you. I think it has to to with their buses, they must be some of the worlds most cramped and if there was no room inside its fine just strap your bike on and sit on that, or the roof. Crazy place but I loved it.

Advertisement



5th May 2006

WOW WOW WOW!
Hey Pill!! What a wicked site this is being able to catch up on what u are up to! The pics of u are great and sounds like all is amazing!! I´l definatly keep reading, sounds like a trip of a lifetime! If u can stop of in Ibiza on your way back, I have a spare bed!! Take care!!
18th May 2006

Sounds amazing...
Sounds amazing, makes me wish I'd done Asia on my trip too now...

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb