Thankfulness and Human Suffering


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
November 25th 2010
Published: November 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Americans consider today to be Thanksgiving Day; meanwhile, the Prime Minister of Cambodia has declared today to be the National Day of Mourning for the victims of the stampede. Already feeling glum about the loss of my job, I can indulge this day most thoroughly.

Here is something to think about over turkey, cranberries and pumpkin pie. My country, the United States, is home to some 300 million souls. That's 20 times Cambodia's population of 15 million.

Approximately 350 people were crushed and stomped to death in Phnom Penh this past Monday. If you do the math (and I'm somebody who likes to do the math), this would proportionally be as if 7000 Americans had been killed.

Well folks, the last national tragedy I survived was the September 11th attacks, in which 2,996 people were killed. That's like more than two 9-11's put together. I read all these sick comments that people put up on online news articles; I hear all these sick jokes that rich and powerful Khmer kids make about the deaths, AND I FEEL LIKE SOMEONE NEEDS TO POINT THIS OUT.

Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your turkey!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb