I'm...Never Leaving This Place, Am I?


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

My HouseMy HouseMy House

Mine is the one on the top floor, upper left corner.
I've now been working here for two weeks. I've gotten my own apartment,* I now possess a bike, and I've had a pair of shoes made at the cobbler's, seeing that my only shoes in the world are now beyond help: my sandals were already worn down through the sole when I (forcibly) left them in Jining, and my horseback riding boots have been destroyed to the point of no return. I also got my first paycheck today. Woo! They are not paying me nearly enough to teach those young 'uns!

I like my new apartment a lot actually. It's about a 5 minute walk away from my current institution of employment, about 5 minutes away from Sorya Mall, and about 5 minutes away from Central Market (Psar Tmei). It's also 5 minutes from the riverside and 5 minutes from the Royal Palace, and below me there is a shop that has free cheese and wine on Fridays. It's a penthouse apartment on the 4th floor of a town house--living on top of a four-story house has been my dream since I was a small child. It came furnished, with cable TV but no houseplants. It's rather small--about the size of my efficiency back in Cincinnati, with more walls in the way and no bathtub. I have a splendid view of fireworks from my balcony.

There was an apartment I liked somewhat better, and included a poster about Climate Change on the bathroom walls, but it was a lot farther from the school and was physically difficult to access (as in the door was wedged Harry-Potter style beneath the stairwell) so I had to say No (another sign ignored! 😞 ). One thing is for sure--it's not shitty like Er Yuan Su She. Everything is locked up: the apartment gates, the apartment doors, the windows, the wardrobe, the dishes and silverware, ALL OF IT. So no one's getting in and demanding money, either!

When I signed the lease, my landlady kept asking if I was alone and was going to be alone the whole year *wink wink nudge nudge*, oh shameless hussy that I am. And I can give you a long treatise on what it's like to be a lone white female in Asia--on another day. (I'll clear one part up now: you are NOT an object of desire.)

For now, I'm still living at Okay Guesthouse until I get some goods--like food, water, and internet. But the apartment is mine for a year. Damn: a year. Who wants to start wagering bets on this one?




*FYI, if you want to write to me, send me money or goods, or break in and steal everything I own, forward me a message and I'll give you my address.


Advertisement



25th November 2010

Want your address!
Congrats on the new place. I'll pray the Climate Change poster wasn't another sign ignored! I have some black flip-flops your size I'd love to ship you! Plus, you never know, I may want to come and break in someday, too. (Pregnant women have been known to take desperate measures before, you know.) So, email me your address...and then lock your doors! :)

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb