Bookmark Kenom (My Friend)


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have a new friend ("bookmark" in Khmer) - our neighbor and sister to our landlord. She's 23 years old and is one of the nicest people, ever.

Last Saturday, Daron went out with the guys, so I was home alone. She seized this as a perfect opportunity to come visit me. At first, I thought she needed something (maybe the water was off downstairs?), but it became obvious she just wanted to hang out and chat...and learn more about us, the new neighbors from America.

We chatted for almost an hour - a pretty good feat, as she knows no English and I know very, very little Khmer. She is one of the few Cambodians I've been successfully able to talk to in Khmer, as she speaks really clearly and slow - both in her questions to me and responses. Slow enough that I can usually keep up.

As I said, she's 23 years old, not much younger than me. However, our lives are so different. Everyday from 7-9am, for the past 10 years, she has sold breakfast on the side of the road. Every afternoon, she fries pork to sell the next morning. Everyday, she washes and cuts vegetables to accompany the rice and pork she sells. She works Monday-Sunday. The only days she has off are public holidays. She goes to bed at 8:00pm...and wakes up at 3:30am!

She's come to visit me 2 times this past week, just to sit and chat. (I think I'm supposed to go visit her, next.) I'm excited to learn more about her - her background and family - as my Khmer continues to improve. Plus, now Daron and I have a delicious, regular breakfast spot. If you come to visit, we'll have to take you. (Only $0.40 for a plate of rice, pork, and pickled veggies! Yum!)

Advertisement



24th October 2010

Ahaa Pelpruk (Breakfast)
Where is that breakfast? It sounds good! Theary Shoreview, MN

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb