First week


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 16th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,
First week finished and I survived. Phnom Penh is a trip. Cars SUV's and Trucks with their brand plastered on the side panels as a symbol of ones wealth is a common sight. So to are thousands upon thousands of scooters. Tuk Tuks at every corner calling to you to jump in. The humidity and heat are out of this world, its like a steam room everywhere. Every afternoon it rains without fail, which is good since it keeps the dust down. Lots of garbage in the streets since there are no dumpsters, but you get used to it. Street food is good but I tend to be picky about getting my food from stands with glass enclosures that keep dust and flies and exhaust off of it, flies dont bother me as much as the other two items. I've met some really great people working with different Non Government Organizations(NGO's) that have helped me out getting a grip on the country. I've been hanging out with students doing research project and study abroad programs, they are great group that let me go to Koh Kong and Sihanoukville with them. I'll try to post some pictures of some of this stuff. Meeting new people and hearing about what they're working on and towards is a treat in itself'. Also seeing what adventures people are planning and what makes them tick is awesome. I'm in a hostel for now at $3.5 per night, not too bad. Also got a local cell phone sim card and some minutes for $29 total. I'm gettin better at this place everyday and learning how it works and having a blast. I've got an appointment to "model"some silk ties for the Tabitha NGO on Thursday haha. Housebuilding was good, a little less building and a bit more finish work than I had forseen but it felt good none-the-less--Thank You, Mom.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb