Strange Struggles


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 11th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Those that know me quite well are aware of my pedicural particularities. I take great pride in my feet, which I think are exceptionally cute (for feet), and go to great lengths to keep them orderly. But Cambodia is challenging my resolution. My feet and ankles are massively swollen and growing by the day so that now I can barely squeeze into my flip flops. And this is not just a little bit of swelling. If one glanced at my feet alone, a logical assumption would be that I am obese. This is not just a hit to my vanity- walking has become a bit of a struggle. I am at a complete loss for how to resolve this problem- elevating, drinking water, and numerous $6 foot massages have all proved futile. If you have any ideas or perhaps have undergone this trauma yourself, please share and help me save my feet!

On a brighter note, my bug bite count is quite low at 11 and my skin is starting to look like skin- that is, have a slight pigmentation. However, this tan is dotted with a mysterious red rash of unknown origin. I also just learned that malaria, Denghi fever, stomach parasites, and obscure strands of hepatitis are very common amongst foreigners in Phnom Penh. I am hoping that I will not be counted in this majority.

I shall leave you with a short anecdote. The other night I went out to a Chinese restaurant with some co-workers. We ordered fok kin rice (say it out loud). It was… not so good. In fact, we finished everything else, including what I think was fried duck fat, but not the f***ing rice.


Advertisement



19th June 2010

Well think of it this way: You'll be immune to it all if and when you start your next AIESEC-in-the-third-world experience!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb