Hollyday in cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jan 5th blog.

Yesterday was a rough one. Airports are a big fucking hassle, rush hour in phnom penh is insane, and night time in a big, new, poor city is pretty scary. Jenn had a headache all day, and I had devoloped one by the end.

We just awoke in our room, and I'm hoping today will be a little better. We're gonna go see the riverside in the light of day. Maybe try one of the fabled happy pizzas,

....heres later that day....

Were now sitting in a second story restaurant across the street from the famed Foriegn Correspondants club, waiting for our Khmer food to arrive. This city is just not very friendly is my verdict.
Walking down the street you get just completely harrassed by tuktuks and beggers, and they follow you, asking you questions and doing anything they can to get you to buy something.

I bought a book from a disabled boy just so he would leave us alone at happy herbs happy pizza. We didnt try the happy pizza, it was too early and we wern't even hungry. But I did talk to the waiter about the secret ingredient. =)

We walked up the riverside and came across a giant field full of pigeons. We took pictures for a while until a little cambodian boy came up to us with a bag of popcorn. ?He handed it to us. We said what the hell and jenn gave him a couple pink cambodian moneys, probably less than a dollar, and he smiled and ran off to his parents. We proceded to feed the thousand pigeons until they got too friendly and then we off and came to the restaurant where we are now.

I just ate some Kmher spicy stir fry, and they are not joking about it being spicy. By far the hottest thing I've eaten in asia. Pretty tasty, but I couldnt even finish it from the heat.

We've booked tickets to siem reap for tomorrow, so hopefully that town is more our style. Also one of the seven wonders of the world in Angkor wat!!!

Advertisement



5th February 2010

Angkor Wat
I just wanted to say hello and let you know I like looking at your pics. I plan to visit Angkor Wat at some point in life, so take lots of pics and let me know what its like. Cheers! Lisa

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb