Busy days


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 3rd 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Tuesday night ended up being a bit of a late one, typically because I had to be up at 5.30 the next morning. I met Vicky and Paul an english couple, and Amanda and Craig, an aussie couple, and well, one cocktail led to another . . . a good night was had by all, definately.

The next morning on the way to the "pier" by the side of the road were wooden shacks on stilts - apparently in the wet season the road floods, so they just pick up their houses and move them up the nearby hill until the waters recede, then move back down. Getting to the fast boat was an achievement in itself, you are transported on a smaller boat to where the fast boat is moored in deeper waters. The other small boat was so overcrowded at one point it nearly tipped over, so they kindly decided to put on another boat for the rest of us. Nice. There are girls selling baguettes (a leftover french influence) with laughing cow wedges, bananas, water - "nothing on boat lady, no foooood!" Clambering from one boat to the other. At this point there's no backing out, so I just gritted my teeth and got on with it. The boys that help with the bags are determined to separate you from some cash, cries of "I helped you on the boat, lady" and "I carry bag" - everything costs a dollar. I am sure that they earn some pretty good money at this - its only tourists on this boat. The transfer to the fast boat is hilarious - people sitting on top, on the sides, inside - you get the picture. Anyway 4 plus hours of that droning engine really takes it out of you, especially when feeling a little delicate.

The jetty at Phnom Penh - chaos. As soon as the boat lands the touts for the guest houses and taxis are jostling for position, shouting names, pawing at people, you literally have to fight your way up the steps. Everyone picks their guesthouse, or collects their driver, then they unload the bags.

So got to the OK guesthouse - yes that's the name - great place. Everyone has a room book, you right down what meals and drinks you've had during your stay then pay for it when you leave. As the sign says "In God we trust".

I arranged to meet my driver at 9.30 the next morning, to plan the day. It started well, he took me to the shooting range to play with the machine guns. An M16 has a hefty kick back let me tell you. They were quite impressed with my shooting skills, being a girl as they kindly pointed out.

Next on to the killing fields and S21, the converted high school that was used to house people for torture and execution. There are alot of books on the Pol Pot Clique as it's called here. Out of 20,000 people that had "confessions" extracted from them there, only 7 people survived. In the cells on the ground floor of block A there are pictures of the tortured corpses from each room.

I was talking to my driver, Own, he suggested a local orphanage to drop off some books, coloured pencils, rice, etc. Most of the parents are HIV victims. They teach the children Khmer and English, giving them skills so at least they have some chance of getting a job.

I got some T shirts from Central Market, then went to the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda, 2 dollars to get in and 3 more to take pictures - hmmm.

When I got back to the guesthouse Own asked if I'd like to go clubbing later - the Heart of Darkness. A mix of locals, tourists, and working girls, this is a great club, brilliant for watching how stupidly drunk people can get, me included. I danced until the small hours, had a brilliant time. I'm off to Vietnam tomorrow, and back to bed now, my poorly head needs more sleep! Will post all relevant pictures from there.

Love to all,

Anna
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb