Sick in SouthEast Asia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 2nd 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I know it is a terrible excuse for not blogging, but I have been sick for the last two days - mum, please forgive me, you must have been devastated when you logged on to find no new blog!

Anyway, yesterday morning I felt a little sick in the stomach for no apparent reason, so Eva supplied me with some dihorea tablets from our medical stach. That seemed to fix me prettyquickly, so we embarked on another day of the Russian Markets for some serious shopping. DVDs, silk, silver, etc. I bought 48 DVDs and 26 CDs, all for about US$100! We just couldnt get enough, and the quality is reportedly the best in South East Asia. Justification for another day of self-indulgent shopping - we are supporting the local economy and giving money directly to those who need it. Hmmm. This line may work for the land mine victims who sell you cheap books, but possibly not for the DVDs, where the proceeds most likely go to some rich pimp in Bangkok!

Anyway, we also cruised around some of Phnom Penhs bookshops, and got a nasty surprise at the astronomical prices for any type of publication. Even secondhand books of all sorts are more expensive over here than in Australia.

Anyway, we lugged all of our newly bought possessions to our tuk-tuk, and headed back to the guesthouse for a quick nap, as Row, my contact from Melbourne, had finally gotten hold of me after finding my email in her junk mail, and we were going to the FCC bar for a drink at 6.30pm to meet her.

By the time we got to the FCC, I was feeling extremely sick, and vomitted three time in the space of about half an hour. At first, I thought is was the no-eating-since-breakfast followed by the Beer Lao followed by the chilli spring rolls, but over 24 hours later, I am not so sure anymore, as I am still feeling pretty average.

It was a pity that I was in such a state, as we didn't get to chat to Row for long at all, and had to postpone the dinner with her to the next night.

When we got back to the guesthouse, I tried to sleep whilst the girls were having dinner downstairs with our Khmer friends - one guy thought it was highly funny that I was having street pizza for dinner, hahaha, another word for vomit. Shows their sense of humour.

I was nearly asleep after thinking about nothing other than how much I wanted some sparkling mineral water when the entire bathroom erupted in streams of water. I texted Eva, whose phone I found next to my bed as the message came through - sisterly love is just endless, isn't it? Leens came up straight away and got a 'plumber', who fixed some of the bathroom piping which had explored - mind you, the bathroom had only just been redone one day prior to our arrival! There is definitely a need for some good tradies over here... Next, the girls decided to get the aircon working, as it was a hot night, and they thought it would e good for me to get a good nights sleep. Another 'technician' arrived, and after much loud discussion and many 'my friend is sick, could you please speak quietly's, the air con was working. The girls settled down, and we all slept for a while - until I had some more street pizza. Yum.

The next morning, we went out for brekkie to one of the more expensive cafes in Phnom Penh, as we all felt like some Western comforts. We went to Cafe Fresco, this full-on Western-run establishment, which even served good Illy coffee! It's funny, the things we take comfort in. Joghurt and baguettes were on the cards, and then we sat and read the papers for a few hours. I think the Khmer staff were quite confused as to why we were just sitting there for so long.

Although it was nice, it was also very cold and so unlike all of the other places we had dined at throughout our time in Cambodia. The staff were more drawnback, the other cafe-goers were quiet and reserved, just so different, much like in Australia. Hmmm.

Anyway, after breakfast, I felt like vomitting again, so the girls dropped me off at the guesthouse and then preceeded to the Russian Markets AGAIN, I think take-5??? I slept for the entire day, and they got back around 6pm with piles of jewellery, film, handbags, shirts, skirts, blah blah blah. Supporting the local economy...

We caught up with Row again for dinner, at a beautiful restaurant near the Royal Palace called Friends. It is run and operated by an aid group, who train kids off the street to cook and waiter. The atmosphere was inspiring, and the food delicious. We had some long discussions with Row about development, humanity, living in foreign countries, jobs, love, work, everything. She is over here through the Australian Government's Youth Ambassador program, and worked for the Cambodian Government's Ag department. She talked a lot about the beauty of the country and the people, but also about the frustrration of not being able to do more. THe corrution, the US, all of these wonderful things.

Anyway, I am off to bed, as we have another long Happy School day tomorrow and I need to rest as much as possible.

x Maz

Advertisement



2nd March 2006

Liebes Mariechen, bin ja so froh, dass Du wieder o.k. bist, aber bei der Pflege!!! I knew not to expect a blog since Eva told me you were sick in bed, but sent me 6 photos instead which was fantastic as well! Have fun at the Happy School excursion tomorrow. Are there any other markets apart from the Russian one,and how are Eva's custom-made shoes going? Look after yourselves und viele Kuesschen, ich ueberlege, ob ich nicht nach Melb. komme, wennn Ihr zurueckkommt, um dabei zu sein, wenn Ihr alles auspackt u. erzaehlt, es ist spaeter immer nicht mehr dasselbe!
2nd March 2006

Hasenmax, Du magst ja denken, dass ich alt bin, aber ich merke immernoch, wenn Du mir einen blog doppelt schickst, nur, damit ich denke, ich habe 2 bekommen, nachdem Du krank warst. uebrigens, wg, der diarrhoe Tabletten, Ihr muesst die weietrnehmen fuer eine Weile, wenn Ihr Bauchschmerzen habt, und nicht sofort wieder aufhoeren wg, der Bakterien im Darmsystem und des Umbringens derselbigen. Love, mum

Tot: 0.955s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.8899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb