My tan line is wrong. Oh the trials and tribulations of my life


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jim

Today has been an interesting day.

We hired a tuk tuk to take us to the Killing Fields, and then the S-21 genocide museum.

The Killing Fields were sad: we were presented when we arrived with a large Buddhist stupa filled with skulls of the dead. Walking around, we saw the mass graves and bones. It is so shocking that many people (in Western countries) still don't know much about the atrocities committed here. It did say in the museum that it "is worse than the Holocaust" but I don't really see the point of comparing, in a kind of one upmanship, the horrors of mass death.

This horror was juxtaposed with the beautiful sunshine, the lake, and the many, many butterflies. Weird.

We then went to S-21. Which, if I'm been honest, I hated. Flic was better than I, but I went in one room, and couldn't deal with it, and sat under a tree the whole time.

The rooms where they tortured are basically left as they were - bloodstains on the floor etc. There are pictures on the walls illustrating the way the people were tortured: real photos.

Way to macabre for me. I know it's bad, I know it's horrible - but it was just too graphic.

After this, we went back to the Hostel and I read, and Flic sunbathed and watched some films. Am reading Antonia Fraser's "Mary Queen of Scots' - is very interesting.

We're just going for dinner now, though we probably have eaten enough today. Oh well.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb