Phnom Penh, Cambodia - Beauty & the Beast


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

29th August 2008

Phnom Penh
It's strange you didn't tell everyone about the crime and saftey in Phnom Penh. You didn't say anything about all the street kids that will follow you around begging for money on Riverside. Nothing about the deformed people that stand outside the S-21 prison begging or the group thats stands by the entrances to the Russian market. I went to Phnom Penh for six days it was a night mare. I spent Two years in Iraq. I ran over 500+ missions there and felt safer than in Cambodia. Regards
29th August 2008

It's interesting you mention the safety aspect. We were warned about Phnom Penh by lots of people, including the taxi driver who picked us up from the airport. So we were expecting something a bit more dangerous than the other places we'd visited in that area (Bangkok, Vientiane, Hanoi, Siem Reap) but although it did have a very definite 'edge' to us the place was safe. True, there were the street kids (but no worse than anywhere else) and there were the beggars with stumps (again,, we'd experienced far worse in Delhi). But unlike you, perhaps, we never strayed (more or less) away from the beaten track. We also didn't go out after abour 10pm. So to a certain extent, we were cocooned from certain elements, although we were independent travellers. Thanks for the comment though. Regards Jason
25th September 2008

safety
My experience in PP was a bit different as I worked there... There are safety issues and everyone has different levels of tolerance, so I think it's varies from person to person and it's important to figure out what you are comfortable with before going. But, again I agree a lot of other countries are similar, so I wouldn't say it was worse than other areas I visited. Again it depends a lot on luck and while I have to admit I had an unpleasant experience towards the end of my stay there, there's probably more chance of being in a car accident at home than something happening while there.

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb