Wait there's more!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wait there's more! I guess you can not write forever on this blog.. I ran out of room. ..Hummm musn't like me rambling...
Anyway after my temple visit I wandered along the river. Phnom Penh is built where the Mekong, Tongle Sap and Bassac Rivers join. I had lunch at a cafe while watching the river traffic. Very busy with barges, ferries and lots of skinny little long boats skittering between banks. The river is fast flowing and dirty brown. Don't look down along the river''s edge there is garbage, dead rats and all sort of debris and then there are people washing, casting nets and fishing...
After a delicious lunch of cold spring rolls wrapped in that wet white rice paper and a Khmer pancake which is similar to the Vietnamese pancake (omlette looking) filled with bean sprouts, prawns, chicken bits and veggies. It was served with the most delicious sauces like peanut satay and several others. Even the soy sauce was sooo yummy! To finish my meal I even spooned/drank the delicious sauces, too! YUM! $7
Continuing my meander down the river toward my guesthouse, I wandered into the Foreign Correspondents Club and had a pot of Angkor Beer on tap. The FCC is a famous meeting place and is situated up above the street with wrought iron balconies and French louvre shutters with a lovely lookout far above the madding crowd below. I sat in old leather lounge chair reading the daily papers under swirling ceiling fans, surrounded by black and white war photos.
After a refresing shower and late afternoon nap, I did some preparation form classes starting on Monday. Early evening, I wandered across the square to a little French/Khmer Restaurant and had fish steamed in banana leaf with corriander, ginger, chilli with a fruit smoothie. Yum! ($6)
Unbeknownst to me, as I was dining, the square filled with people and the fountains erupted into a spectacular sound and light show. There is this huge fountain maybe 100m long with spiggots in it that were timed to music like in Fantasia. The water would spurt and spray in time to Tchicovsky's 1812 Overture, Herb Albert and the Tijuhana Brass, Bollywood crazy Indian music, Vivaldi's 4 seasons, crazy reggae all mixed up. loud and blasting from speakers in the square. Hundreds of people were there and crazy traffic rounded the square and across the square is a beautifull serene Buddhist temple in the background. There I was, the only diner sitting outside (it is very hot here) my table under a fragrant fragipani watching this amazing spectical.
Aah the joys of travel. Expect the unexpected.
Bye,
Connie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb